We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot at Talkeetna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildflower Cafe

Wildflower Cafe
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot at Talkeetna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were waiting for weather to clear for our Denali flight and found the Wildflower Cafe amongst the crowded streets of Talkeenta. The Cafe was cute and quaint and the menu looked good. Both of us ordered the salmon sandwiches, which were generously apportioned and tasty. There was nothing extraordinary about this Cafe but we enjoyed the good food, the friendly service and the family friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    212
    73
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood Chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We vistited Talkeetna, Ak in the spring of 2011. We had two meals at the Wildflower Cafe. The food is excellent, the service was good. We had one meal sitting at an outside table and another at a table inside. The atmosphe is okay, this is not a fancy place, but the food was worth it. I had the best seafood chowder I have ever eaten in my life at this restuarant. I want to go back to Alaska just for this chowder.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMAfan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hey, good food & good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nothing special, but not bad either. Can get a nice piece of fish for a good price. Family friendly place with nice outdoor seating area long the main street in Talkeetna.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acquista-Mooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard,NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,Presidential Chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wildflower Cafe was one of many resturants recommended by the visitor center in Talkeetna,Al. We found the food to most excellent! The chef apperantly was a past preseidental cook.The food is pricey...even by Alaskan standards. I would definitely go back!
Yes the cafe is small as are most others in Alaska.Remember Fish N Chips in a basket in Alaska goes for $15 per plate,the food here is only two times more in price,but 3 (and beyond )times better in quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“so good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 3 days near Talkeetna . The Wildflower was the recommendation of Renae and Tom of theTalkeetna Denali View Lodge. It was so good that we didn't eat anywhere else.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank whoa3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildflower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing