We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms with very noisy people around us.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed Aug. 24th and were expecting a good nights sleep according to other trip advisor reviews. The guests behind us woke up at 4:00 am and were noisy until they left after 6:00. After that guests in the other rooms were up and making quite a bit of noise. You also get road noise in the rooms that face the front.
The rooms were clean but were sparsely furnished with only a kitchen table and two wooden upright chairs for a room that can sleep 4. We appreciated the room being clean but did not expect to be asked to remove our shoes for laminate floors that weren't heated. The towels were not the quality we had experienced in other hotels costing the same.
The Denali Fireside Cabins and Suites are very average.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alaskarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhostsAlaska, Owner at Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2010

In reponse to Alaskarookie, we are sorry she and her mother were disturbed by guests in the adjacent suite. Unfortunately situations such as this are sometimes beyond our control unless it is brought to our attention. Each of our units are separated by double walls (fully insulated) with an air space and sound board in between. However, as with any shared walls, there needs to be consideration for adjoining neighbors, especially when leaving early (as was the case here), or arriving late. * Lodging in the town of Talkeetna is much different than staying at wilderness lodges, which seems to have been the experience these two ladies preferred (see her previous 8 reviews). Talkeetna is a busy little town with roads, trains, boats, planes and downtown bars. The 2 lane road in front of our property dead ends 1500 feet beyond and has a 25 m.p.h. speed limit. It becomes very quiet in the evening, and we are well away from the bar scene. In response to the removal of shoes and the laminate floor - we do have heat beneath the floor that we turn on in the spring and fall. Turning the heat on in the summer would be self defeating as most of our guests prefer coolness. On a cool rainy day the gas fireplace warms the unit (and floor) quite nicely. In Alaska it is customary to remove shoes, and it is adviseable for travellers to carry a light pair of slippers. We are proud of the amenities we offer our guests and feel compelled to mention the many features Alaskarookie left out. Each of our units has a comfortable hand crafted log glider on a large private deck. In fact the unit Alaskarookie stayed in has a partial view of Mt. McKinley from the deck. In order to give a rustic Alaskan feel, we have incorporated hand peeled logs into the construction of our spacious 425 sq. ft. units as well as cozy gas fireplaces. Our units also feature vaulted ceilings, hand textured walls, ceiling fans, flat screen 32" high definition satellite TVs, complimentary DVDs, free wireless internet, pillow-top queen beds with hand crafted quilts, private baths, microwaves, fridges, bar sinks, coffee makers, table with 2 chairs and a wooden antique style chair beside one of the beds. Alaskarookies room had 3 chairs (not 2), and we do supply extras as needed when we have 4 guests. We also have a suite with one queen bed and sofa with coffee table, offering a small sitting area close to the fireplace & TV. Our rustic log beds and night tables are custom made right in Alaska. To dissipate heat during hot summer days, we have power ventilated attics and each unit has two large windows for cross ventilation. Also, all of our windows have venetian blinds and curtains with dim-out backing. Alaska rookie had asked for a time extension for checking out and became quite annoyed when we could not accommodate her request. We appreciate genuine feedback by our guests, but reviews should be fair.

* For those who prefer quiet solitude, we have a new stand alone log cabin situated on 5 acres beside a small pond - 2.5 miles outside of Talkeetna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 345 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

Mavis and Don are great Inn hosts. Their cabins are super clean, modern, roomy and a short walk to town and other major attractions. They also brew great java next door and their all natural ice cream is very tasty too. However, Don's brother, Dennis, has an incrediable tour you must do!! He takes you into the heartland of Alaska to the family 1959 homestead and then onto his cabin for lunch. It is a pristine site. You will not want to come back. His cabin is also avaiable for B and B. This trip is for all ages and is a special event. Save a day in your schedule....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allenriverford28036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We loved our stay in one of the cabins of the Denali Fireside. Our room was very spacious, with two lovely beds, a perfect shower and a clean kitchenette. Everything smelled and looked perfectl. It is just a short walk to "Downtown" Talkeetna. We absolutely recommend the Denali Fireside Cabins to every traveler!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

These people were so helpful. They suggested things we might like to see or do.Were helpful in getting us signed up too. Dennis Devore took us on a tour that was wonderful. He told us history of the town and it's people along with his own story of how he came to be there...one of the orginal "59'ers" He took us to pan for gold... what an experience! The ride wasn't bad either... He has his own little wagon just for this purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trailrider100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The cabin was located in a quiet and secluded place just outside Talkeetna. As a newly constructed log cabin, it was clean and incuded all that a family would need to stay a few days or a few weeks...except for the food. The beds were pillow top mattresses and very comfortable.

Dennis Devoir provided us with a trip to the family homestead constructed shortly after the 1959 homestead rush. He spun stories about his experiences homesteading Alaska. We visited his newly constructed cabin where we were fed lunch and panned for gold in the stream just behind the cabin. It was so peaceful there that it was difficult to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpmoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My title pretty much says it all. If these folks opened up cabins across the world, they would be my first choice on every trip. Added bonus, flat screen TV setup with DVD player and satellite feed are top quality electronics, these owners give you your money's worth.
The owner's brother also runs a tour that was fantastic. The best way to describe the tour is that he tells you about the history of Talkeetna and then brings you to the family's original homestead. Their family was part of the '59-ers, I'll let him give you the rest of the details on that. You will then travel to his home for refreshments and get to see how a real 2010 Alaskan lives and by the way, the only way to his home is via ATV. The stay and tour was our favorite day of our Alaska trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

This place was great, clean, & big cabins a lot of space. We stay one night wish we stsyed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FireCop204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
5.0 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites

Address: 22647 S Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range: $99 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denali Fireside is a new facility in Talkeetna offering suites or cabins that comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. Features include pillow top king and queen beds, kitchenettes (mini-fridge, microwave, coffee brewer, bar sink) gas fireplaces, satellite HDTVs, wireless internet and private covered deckswith log gliders. The structures are log/frame and the interiors are decorated in Alaskana decor, including cozy hand sewn quilts. New for 2010 - Our "Little Cabin in the Woods" located on 5 acres beside a small spring-fed pond, 3 miles from our lodge in Talkeetna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Fireside Cabins And Suites
Denali Fireside Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing