We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeaky clean and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Squeaky clean and very comfortable”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

It had all the comforts of home--nice beds with extra pillows, a cozy fireplace, hardwood floors, and a flat screen TV. It even had blackout curtains, so that we weren't aware that the sun rose at 4AM! If I hadn't known better, I would have assumed it was brand new, given the perfect condition of everything and the host couldn't have been more accommodating. Would definitely stay here again were we lucky enough to get to Alaska again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
172
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

What a fantastic place to stay1 The Denali Fireside proved to be one of our favorite accommodations of our fairly extensive travel on 5 continents. Our room was fantastic - very clean, spacious, and decorated in a quintessential Norhwest motif. The unit included a porch with comfortable glider and chair, lovely gas fireplace, kitchenette, dining table and chairs, and beautiful quilts on the two double beds. Our room was so large that each of the two beds was actually in its own area (not separate rooms). The owners live on premises and are extremely friendly and helpful. We only wish that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We loved this place. Clean. Spacious. Homey. Felt like a brand new cabin!

We felt so comfortable visiting Talkeetna to come "home" to a place like the Denali Fireside Cabins. We rented 3 different suites and all of our family was very comfortable. In walking distance of downtown Talkeetna. Great stay. Super nice staff!

Mavis picked up our luggage from the train station, helped us unload it and drove my injured mom to a restaurant later during our stay (we all walked, but my mom couldn't). It was so nice of her. She also dropped our luggage off at the train station as we were heading out of town. What a doll.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Having stayed in cruise line lodges and a variety of other accommodations nearby, I enthusiastically endorse Denali Fireside as the best the area has to offer. Don and Mavis and their staff keep the rooms spotless, and they will deal with noisy people when notified--the rooms are set up four per building (cabin) with separate entrances. Having a small refrigerator and microwave in each room is great, particularly if one brings in snacks and drinks from an Anchorage grocery store where they are far less expensive than in town. Yes, the train does pass behind the inn a couple times at night; however, I found that regular foam earplugs I use at home at night muffled the noise perfectly. Lastly, the convenience to the heart of Talkeetna without being in it was ideal for people who want to relax--we walked the few blocks to restaurants for breakfast and dinner each day, and keeping the Alaska-sized mosquitoes away was the toughest part (if one forgets to spray with lemon eucalyptus oil before going outside anywhere around Denali).

Room Tip: book by late winter for summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

is the best way to describe the cabins at Denali Fireside.
Hosts Don and Mavis and their staff have the highest standard when it comes to offering you lodging that is not only spotless, but respectable as well.
The spacious floor plan allows a unique arrangement of the 2 queen beds that gives privacy to our family of four.
Log furniture, authentic Alaskan décor, and a gas fireplace in each room give a warm, rustic appeal while a microwave, refrigerator and quality mattresses give you all the comforts of home.

We have a remote cabin that we access from Talkeetna, so we usually spend the night in Talkeetna before getting on the trail the next morning. Having visited most of the places in town, this is always our first choice and where we send all our visitors to Alaska.

It’s a great deal at a great price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushpilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claysburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Arriving in Talkeetna on 9/16/10, we immediately felt at home as Mavis showed us the two cabins she had available that evening at Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites. We walked in noticing right away, it was "super" clean, with two queen-size beds made up with country quilts decorated in a cozy, country atmosphere. A gas fireplace in the corner welcomed us to come in and rest awhile. The cabin had cathedral ceilings, a great shower, microwave & fridge and an amazing view. We sat on the porch, drank our coffee, and could plainly see Mt. McKinley. We traveled in AK for 16 days, driving over 2660 miles, and this truly was the nicest place we stayed. If you are looking for quality, exceptionally clean rooms with helpful, courteous hosts, we highly recommend Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites. Hospitality, cleanliness, convenience to local sights and a good bed are things we look for in a room. We had all those plus a real feeling of Alaska. This is living the "Good Life".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammyjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is a great place to stay. Mavis and Don were great hosts helping us with everthing including picking up a friend who stayed in Talkeetna and had no phone in her place. You could walk to town in 7 minutes and the view when we walked out of our room, turned the corner and saw the MOUNTAIN was fanastic.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
10.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites

Property: Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Address: 22647 S Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denali Fireside is a new facility in Talkeetna offering suites or cabins that comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. Features include pillow top king and queen beds, kitchenettes (mini-fridge, microwave, coffee brewer, bar sink) gas fireplaces, satellite HDTVs, wireless internet and private covered deckswith log gliders. The structures are log/frame and the interiors are decorated in Alaskana decor, including cozy hand sewn quilts. New for 2010 - Our "Little Cabin in the Woods" located on 5 acres beside a small spring-fed pond, 3 miles from our lodge in Talkeetna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Fireside Cabins And Suites
Denali Fireside Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing