We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and quantity.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talkeetna Roadhouse

Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornell
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and quantity.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I stopped in for breakfast. The waiter recommended that we do the 1/2 orders. He was right as we could have split one of them. The biscuits and gravy was great and also the reindeer sausage. We got waited and served very quickly. But a bus load of customers arrived right after we placed our order so depending on your timing you could have to wait awhile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    383
    86
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Plenty to eat but have time to wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a fun place to eat. Tables are big and anyone can sit at your table if there are Empty seats. Huge portions of food, servers are fun but an hour to get food isn't uncommon. The fun part is talking to the different people sitting at your table and sharing stories. Seriously though, plan on at least an hour just to get your food if they are busy and I think they are always busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have eaten at the Roadhouse probably over 100 times in four years. Previously, the entire place could be full but you still got your food in 10-15 minutes flat, and it was hot and perfect.

I've been about 8 times so far this summer and every single time was disappointing, even when the restaurant is nearly empty. Food takes 50+ minutes (I timed it!) or the gravy looks old and crusty like it had been under the heat lamp for far too long, or they just plain get orders wrong, or you're ignored literally for 25+ minutes.

I'm not averse to roadhouse, family-style places; nor do I expect five-star service at a place like this, but if a server is going to do nothing but put in your order and then not check up on you even a single time... why do they deserve a tip? And I say that as someone who has previously worked in the food service industry for nearly a decade -- I don't have unrealistic expectations here, and I know what it's like to be busy and "in the weeds," but man... how disappointing.

I don't know what changed between previous years and this one, but it needs to change back. In the meantime, I will get my breakfast fix elsewhere in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Had several people recommend this place so we tried it! Absolutely delicious, fresh and serving sizes are ridiculous! Atmosphere is relaxing. Also a great hotel!! Very cool setup with bakery in front!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cierarosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“roadhouse camraderie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

nice place for breakfast and to share stories with other travelers at the family seating tables. Service was friendly, a little slow at times because it is a small kitchen for a lot of people. Good enough that we went back for lunch 2 days later.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Griffin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talkeetna Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing