We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big servings, small price”

Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big servings, small price”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We love to visit Talkeetna for a Sunday morning breakfast at Talkeetna Roadhouse. The servings are huge and delicious. I usually order the half serving of the Standard breakfast meal which is eggs, home fries laced w/ bell peppers, seasoned to perfection, two thick slices of bacon, a huge thick slice of homemade bread, juice and coffee or tea. The place has a very rustic, homey feel. Staff is friendly and efficient. I'm marking Scenic View below because everything in Talkeetna is scenic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSBANCAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    412
    96
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildersville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We order chili for dinner and got a bowl, we should have order a cup because it was too much. It was good we just could not eat it all. We ate breakfast there too, I order pancake and it was bigger than my plate. Also good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 56Betty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MUST GO!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Best food in town!!! We heard about this place and it certainly lived up to the hype!! So amazing!! A little crowded for breakfast but definitely worth it. Food was incredible.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food, Terrific Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food was amazing here. Huge portions and the absolute best scrambled eggs I have ever eaten. Don't miss the baked goods either. It is exactly what it is named, a roadhouse. The food is plain but good and plentiful. It's a restaurant, bakery, hostel where climbers stay. Great place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rub elbows with strangers for comfort food done up special”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Newbies eating at the Roadhouse are often confused at first. Where to sit, how to get a server, what to order. Its beautiful simplicity and AMAZING food soon reveal themselves.

Take comfort in any open chair at the common, family style tables. Yep, that means sitting next to strangers and striking up fun conversation! Forget about looking at the printed menu - it's overwhelming. Focus instead on the blackboard menu and the staples that have made the Roadhouse famous.

And remember, this is the place where many climbers for the nearby mountains bunk, so the portions are appropriately sized for enormous appetites. Don't let that intimidate you. You'll be surprised what you can finish because it's just that good. And if you must, left-overs make a great meal back at the cabin.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talkeetna Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing