We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dessert!”

Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Fantastic dessert!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate lunch at Mountain High Pizza and were looking for dessert. The server recommended the cafe at the Roadhouse so we walked over. Great selection of candies, cakes and pies. We settled on splitting a slice of blueberry pie since the piece was huge (4 inches wide at the crust). They served it with a very large scoop of ice cream. Absolutely delicious. The topping was crumb rather than pastry, which is my favorite. I also had an expresso and one of the chocolate caramel nut turtles. That was OK. If you want a great dessert, large portion and reasonable prices, then this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    399
    91
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place, great food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant is more than just food; it is an experience not to be missed during your time in Talkeetna. Glad that we stopped there for lunch. Made for wonderful memories on our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than moms”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Comfort food extraordinaire! It was drizzling and crisp outside but warm and friendly inside and I'm not just speaking of the people. My stomach was singing the same tune as well. Below they asked if the place was romantic and I wouldn't go that far but after we ate we both felt a little...ah you know!@*

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Many mountain climbers come to this restaurant to hang out before they strike out to explore Denali and hang out when they are done to tell their adventures. This quaint restaurant has personality, atmosphere and excellent food ! We had the Caribou medallions but forgot to take our doggie bag home with us .....argh....that was a big mistake because they were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Even better than expected.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nothing to dislike! But do not go tp the Roadhouse if you like fast food places, drive thrus etc. This is real home cooked food... Served in an authentic old building which has been there for many years. The place oozes history. Like wandering around a private home just to get to a restroom. Was lucky enough to hit banana blueberry pancake day! Yum! Delicious. Went back a few more times- once just for baked goodies to take aboard the train to Denali.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talkeetna Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing