We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing flight & landing on Mount McKinley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talkeetna Air Taxi

Talkeetna Air Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
$220.50*
and up
Denali National Park Flightseeing Tour from Talkeetna
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TAT is the #1 choice of Alaska visitors for glacier landings on Mt. McKinley in Denali National Park. See Denali up close and personal by air or view Mt. McKinley year-round on our live webcam! Trip prices range from $205 - $410 per person.The Beauty here is unbelievable.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing flight & landing on Mount McKinley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had the joy of flying on Talkeetna Air on September 14th to see Mount McKinley. The weather was clear and the views were amazing. Our pilot was great and made sure that all passengers had a great view of all facets of the great mountain... We landed on the glacier and enjoyed the striking views. It was the highlight of our trip to Alaska and would highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lhuot1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,284
    43
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

An adventure of a lifetime!!!!

After waiting a day for the weather to clear, we took the trip of a lifetime with Talkeetna Air Taxi. There are single seats next to a window so everyone was a great view. There are headphones for each passenger so you can hear the pilot describing the mountains and glaciers. For glacier landings, they provide boots for snow. They even provide sun glasses for use during the flight.

We took the most complete flight and felt that the tour around Denali was so much better than if we had just seen the south face. The glacier landing was just beyond belief as we glided across pristine snow and stood open- mouthed at the beauty of the place. If at all possible, do the glacier landing.

Our flight was pretty smooth and we felt very safe with our pilot who was cautious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing trip well done thanks to TAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We landed at Anchorage early morning and drove to TAT for our 8:30am flight hoping that it would be clear skies after the cloudy and rainy weather that weekend. The TAT folks greeted us with a smile and said "Yes, you are going up" cos the skies were all clear. The air pilot was really good and took some amazing photos of us when we landed on the glacier. We took the cheapest tour but then they offered us an upgrade for free. We were so happy. Definitely recommend TAT. Please have a look at some of the amazing photos

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sameer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you're thinking of taking a flightseeing tour stop thinking and start doing! Best part of our trip so far. You'll be absolutely amazed by what you see. Literally took my breath away a few times! Definitely worth the money!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Phenominal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Absolutely the best thing we did in Alaska. Wife and I took the grand Denali tour with the optional glacier landing. Nothing short of spectacular. The mountain looked awesome and being able to walk around and play on the glacier was a memory will never forget. Great operation with trained pilot and attentive staff. Town of Talkeetna where we flew from is a great place to visit too. Very quaint with many interesting shops. A must see!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 44statesandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talkeetna Air Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Air Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing