We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Susitna River Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rustic Peace”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here August 1-3 Fabulous Rustic Rooms. Wonderfully firm beds. Great Breakfast bar. Quiet. This is the perfect place to stay in Talkeetna. Can’t say enough about the ambiance of the lodge. We stayed in one of the four rooms in the lodge, and could not be more pleased. Also best internet service we had anywhere in Alaska. Ideal location three minutes from the Talkeetna main street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    34
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
104
114
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location of this lodge is breathtaking. The cabins themselves are perfect for families. Very large and roomy. I wish we could have had more time at Sustina. The only downside I would say is the carpet in the rooms leave a must smell in the room... but I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takingeachroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband & I stayed here 1 night on our way from Denali to Seward. Really liked it. Clean & nice; good towels. Good continental bfast. Half mile from town which was a perfect walk to go to dinner. Very quiet. Would stay again if we go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful spot right on the river. Our room in the lodge was big and comfortable. It has a neat little electric fireplace that adds to the rustic ambiance. It's walking distance to town and there are neat shops and restaurants. Darlene, one of the owners, is a real pleasure to talk to. Made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beembar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed two nights May 13 and 14 and loved our cabin. The view is the Susitna River (which was still frozen due to their late winter weather this year) and when the sun came out, we couldn't believe the incredible view of the Mt. McKinley range. We had no idea it was even there when we checked in as it was cloudy but when we woke up the next morning, both of us just stared at it in awe. We really loved the little town. Flight tour (K2 Aviation) was great, food was good, people friendly. All in all a really nice place in a little tourist town in a beautifully scenic area. Been all over Alaska and Talkeetna area is a favorite.

Oh yes, the cabin: Clean. Well stocked. Upstairs loft would be great for a couple of kids. No TV or internet in cabin but they do have DVD's available at no charge. TV and internet available in the main building. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: all 4 (or 5?) cabins appear about the same so all should have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKFShreveport_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our cabin was clean and comfortable. The location was by the river and had a magnificent view of the mountains in denalli. The lodge was very nice and provided internet service as well as TV if desired. Cabin had a full kitchen and was well stocked with pots , pans and dinnerware. the two single beds in the loft weren't used but would be great for youngsters. the property was close to flightseeing and downtown as well. Several resturants were downtown and we enjoyed our limited stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd time here & it is an amazing place. Darlene & Howard (owners) are lovely people & it's a joy to see them again. The cabins are spotless, warm & offers serene views. It was so relaxing siting around the bonfire on the frozen lake eating s'mores enjoying the company of all that were gathered there.
It was fun talking to the other visitors in the lounge/sitting area finding out why they were in the area & the jigsaw puzzle that was just begging to be done. I got introduced to Girl Scout cookies that Darlene provided - yum.
There is even a "Ninja Squirrel" that will jump up & help itself to the food in the hanging bird feeders.
I wish I could spend more time here enjoying this beautiful place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.4 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
0.6 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.6 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susitna River Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna River Lodging

Property: Susitna River Lodging
Address: Talkeetna Spur Road, 13.5 Mile, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Susitna River Lodging....where the rivers and mountains meet. 13.5 mile Talkeetna Spur Road. Private cabins, deluxe suites, river and mountain views. 5 minute walk to historic Talkeetna. Open year round. 2 hours from Anchorage and 2 1/2 hours from Denali National Park. New unbelievable playground across the street. Two pet friendly cabins. All accommodations include full baths and kitchenettes. BBQ grills and supplies provided. We accept all major credit cards. Military discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Susitna River Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susitna River Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Susitna River Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing