We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay with minimal water in the river in July”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Susitna River Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Adequate stay with minimal water in the river in July”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our stay in one of the cabins was not memorable unlike our time in other locations in Alaska. The cabin accommodations were clean and adequate but nothing special or unique. It was like a modular unit with the exception of the logs covering the walls. We did not find the hospitality that other reviews mention. Maybe the owner was away while the daughter and grand children were left in charge. The cabin did not provide enough hot water for more than one person to take a hot shower and with white mini blinds it is impossible to make the cabin even remotely dim at midnight or two in the morning in July. We also felt that the grand children should not be in control of the television all evening when paying guests are in the Main Lodge Lobby. There were guests who would have enjoyed quiet time or a channel other than Disney at 10:00 at night. The volume was also rather loud if someone had been staying in the downstairs room. In the morning several people would have enjoyed milk with their cereal but no milk was available prior to the office opening time, maybe a small fridge could be installed so that milk for cereal and coffee would be available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    35
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
104
117
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolono, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed there for three days and it really began to feel like our second home. There is an amazing view of the mountains from the river on clearer days and we took great pictures. We loved our stay in Talkeetna! Thanks, Darlene!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelite83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Loved Susitna River Lodge - just what you want when you are in Alaska! We were with our two younger children and my in-laws, and only in Talkeetna for one night. We stayed in the 2 suites on the upper floor of the main lodge and it was perfect - clean, comfortable and cozy. Darlene (the owner) was great, and thrilled my kids when she picked us up at the train depot in Talkeetna's only limousine! Stayed 10 years ago at the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge - nice, but very expensive, and this was more what we were looking for on this trip. Didn't get to peek in the cabins, but the larger groups of people renting them seemed to be having a blast hanging out and grilling by the river. Trying Darlene's smoked salmon recipe tonight with the fish we shipped home from Alaska!

Room Tip: Buy a Northern Lights coupon book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura62565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife, our 15-month old and I stayed in the main lodge for one night on the Fourth of July and now my wife wants to only stay here whenever we visit the Anchorage-Denali area! The place is absolutely lovely with very spacious rooms but the highlight of our stay was the manager and her family, especially her beautiful little granddaughters! Right from the time we checked-in, till the time we left, they treated us like we were part of their own family. They were immensely helpful numerous times: by sharing their fireworks and toys with our little one, by providing a glass of milk when all the grocery stores where closed and by offering their cell phone to locate ours, even when it was quite late in the night! We won't forget this stay - a completely joyous experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kar403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Due to flight changes by Delta we did not arrive until Midnight. Darlene was nice, informative about the area and let us check out after our Glacier flight the next day. We had a Suite in the lodge which was large and clean. More than enough room for our family of 4.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandytntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I am NOT an outdoor person and absolutely LOVED our stay. Management was GREAT!!! The grounds were FABULOUS and I will recommend it to those who love the outdoors and those who are not so "outdoorsy" like myself. Great restaurants and nice shops close. Talkeetna has something for everyone!!! I am from Alaska and will be returning over and over again!!! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h47784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Highly recommended. Great views with Bald Eagles right on the river. Close to town, shopping and restaurants. Most relaxing place we stayed on our trip. Howard and Darlene went out of there way to ensure our family had a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX-BJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.6 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
9.6 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
261 reviews
4.6 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susitna River Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna River Lodging

Property: Susitna River Lodging
Address: Talkeetna Spur Road, 13.5 Mile, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Susitna River Lodging....where the rivers and mountains meet. 13.5 mile Talkeetna Spur Road. Private cabins, deluxe suites, river and mountain views. 5 minute walk to historic Talkeetna. Open year round. 2 hours from Anchorage and 2 1/2 hours from Denali National Park. New unbelievable playground across the street. Two pet friendly cabins. All accommodations include full baths and kitchenettes. BBQ grills and supplies provided. We accept all major credit cards. Military discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Susitna River Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susitna River Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Susitna River Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing