We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meandering Moose Lodging(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Hideaway(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Roadhouse(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
42
17
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
17
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfy cabinthese cabinscharming townnice kitchentrain stationsmall townsimple breakfastclose to towntwo couplesthe ownerthe rivershort walkenjoyed our stayqueen bedwould definitely stay here againthe main streeta great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 70 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a large group and wanted to camp but our parents are elderly so we put them up in one of the cabins. When we checked them in and took a look at the cabin we were so jealous! it was so nice and clean. Very close to the campgrounds and town. It was perfect and our parents felt like they had the honeymoon suite. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopppper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having decided to leave Denali a day early (to split up the drive back to Anchorage) we were very grateful that Chinook Wind could accommodate us for one night on short notice. The establishment is just a short walk from "downtown." Our cabin (named Denali) was closed up tightly and smelled strongly of bacon upon our afternoon arrival. I was glad I had a scented candle with me! Though everything seemed clean enough, I just didn't feel like any of the linens were "fresh." The cabin was spacious and seemed to have the basics in the kitchen (we didn't cook there); also there was a nice tented barbecue area that we probably would have utilized had our stay been longer. The layout worked well for us and our two adult daughters - Q and single in the bedroom, trundle and futon in the living room. The free WiFi was much appreciated and was strong enough to watch Netflix movies on two separate devices at the same time. In the morning we couldn't find the hair dryer - one was delivered right away when requested. Yes, as noted elsewhere, the trains do run all night and they BLAST their horns each time they pass through - but that is the nature of Talkeetna.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sstephens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I rented two cabins at Chinook Wind last night. We drove in from Anchorage. We had 4 kids and 4 adults in our group. The owners were so nice and gave us great advice on where to dine, hike and explore. Our favorite part was hanging out at the cabins. The kids played, we sat on the porches and enjoyed the scenery and relaxed. My sister has food allergies and the full kitchens and BBQ area were terrific. We could could cook meals and still feel like we were on vacation. The beds and comforters were hotel quality. Super comfy and everything was very clean. The best of both, hotel amenities in a quaint cabin setting. We would go back in a heartbeat. They even had satellite TV, not that we watched it but it was nice to have the option.

Room Tip: Denali is great for a big group, separate living room, full size kitchen, tons of sleeping space. We also had a smaller cabin that had two queens and a kitchenette.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The cabins were still clean and the staff was still friendly. We stayed here 3 years ago and not much has changed. That is good. Basic accomodations. Good location for exploring Talkeetna. Within walking distance of the airport. Close to the train station and the staff will arrange to pick you up and deliver you to the depot if you are traveling by train.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were able to book a cabin at the last minute during Labor Day weekend. The woman who helped us was very friendly and made sure we knew exactly where to find them. She also made sure we knew about entertainment in "town" - and we ended up having one of the funnest nights of our lives so far!
We stayed in the Russell cabin (two queen beds) and were very impressed. The cabin seems newly constructed and was very clean and comfortable. There is a kitchenette and full bathroom (no tiny shower stall!). We would have been very comfortable here for an extended stay, but we only had one night.
Bed and Bath linens were high quality. The bed was very comfortable (we only needed one) and the cabin seemed well-insulated. It was chilly out, but we did not need to use the heater. There's a nice porch in the front with comfy chairs, as well as a recliner and dinette inside.
The recliner inside was the only item that seemed "old" and a bit worn, but was clean and very comfortable. The only other "off" thing was the TV that is strangely mounted in the corner over one of the beds. Because of the size of the cabin, space is limited and there are not many choices when it comes to furniture placement. However, I would not have wanted to sleep under that shelf, even though it looked very stable...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews