We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinook Wind Cabins, Talkeetna Alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chinook Wind Cabins
Ranked #9 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chinook Wind Cabins, Talkeetna Alaska”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Traveled to Alaska and stayed at the Chinook Winds Cabins. Nice facility, good clean rooms, comfortable beds. Located about 2 blocks from downtown. Drawback sufficient hot water but not a lot for a long shower.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
redheadfamily
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in a two story cabin with our family of five. The beds were very comfortable and our kids loved having their own twin on the second floor. Our cabin was very clean throughout. The kitchenette had all that we needed for making a simple breakfast. Great location for walking to all of the shops in town. Unfortunately, it rained throughout our time in Talkeetna so we especially enjoyed the selection of movies provided for us by the front desk. Jane was very friendly and made our stay quite comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Chinook winds cabins for a night. It was everything you wanted. We had a comfy cabin with good, soft beds, free WiFi, and good heating/ air conditioning. The beds were big, the view was nice, and the rest of Talkeetna was in walking distance. It was also pretty clean, and the staff was friendly. It was everything in the pictures. This was the best hotel I’ve ever stayed inn (no pun intended)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very clean and comfortable cabin. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and excursion offices. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Our family had a great stay at the Chinook Wind Cabins. We stayed in one of the 2 story cabins with our 3 kids. It was great since all the kids had their own beds separate from us. We were close enough to town to walk to everything we needed. The owners were more than happy to provide us with an extension cord to plug in our car since it was so cold. We will definitely be staying there again next time we are in Talkeetna. Friendly service, yet private cabins. The train was a little loud in the middle of the night, but my husband and all the kids slept right through it.

Room Tip: They have several cabins perfect for everyone from a family, to groups, to families. They offered u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had a group of four and stayed in one of the cabins with a main living room/kitchen and separate bedroom and bathroom. There was lots of room inside and a nice deck to sit outside and enjoy the evening sun. Our group only needed a place to sleep and it was very clean and comfortable. When we asked the owners about restaurants she brought out a book and explained every place downtown and knew the opening hours. We easily walked around town and enjoyed the quaint downtown without having to drive since it is just a few minutes away. The only bad part was the noise of the train speeding by several times in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_biz_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night after drving from Anchorage. Arrived late with no reservation but were lucky to find a spot. Clean and comfortable cabin with nice porch. Our cabin had 2 queen/double beds, tv, kitchenett and large bathroom. The place was quite except for a train going through at 4am and blowing its whistle. The location was great very close to the small town and you can park right in front of your cabin which was nice for loading and unloading.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotia_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.9 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
0.5 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.1 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinook Wind Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Wind Cabins

Property: Chinook Wind Cabins
Address: Second Street, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinook Wind Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortalbe fully furnished cabins with full bath, kitchenette, dish TV, and more. Location convenient to area services and attractions. Also rooms with shared bath. Provide quality accommodations for your year round lodging needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Chinook Wind Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinook Wind Cabins Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing