We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Ranked #8 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Lace23
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in Room 5 of Grace & Bill's Freedom Hills B&B. The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable but we felt very cut off and essentially confined to our bedroom since Room 5 is located across the street from the actual B&B and is attatched to the back of the owners residence. The bathroom certainly seemed like an afterthought and while clean and servicable I felt like the setup was an afterthought in construction.
The breakfast the next morning was delicious and Bill certainly has a friendly and great personality. I suspect if we had been in the actual B&B we might have enjoyed our stay better overall.
Also, no signage on the way leading up to the B&B and certainly nothing for those staying in Room 5. The sign in front of the B&B itself is small and you have to be directly in front of it to even read it. We also missed this place on our first trip up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lace23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Grace and Bill's certainly wasn't a bad place, but at the same time it also wasn't an exceptional one. We stayed in room 5 and were rather underwhelmed. Things got a bit squishy as the entire family was stuffed into a single room full of beds. We realize B&B try and save on space, but for $160 we'd expected a bit more. Because of this, two of the beds can only be reached by climbing a ladder to a platform - and even though this was fun - it also caused some problems. In order to fold out the couch bed, it is neccesary to remove the ladder, stranding whoever is in the loft bed until morning. This is rather inconvienent in the middle of the night, when you are suspended fifteen feet above the ground and really need to pee. Likewise, although everything was clean and quiet, the location nice, and the breakfast yummy, by the end of our stay we were all ready to go.

So would I recommend this? I'm pretty neutral. I would very firmly not however recommend listening to either Grace or Bill's recommendations when it comes to picking a local restaurant. We were very dissapointed after following their advice and in turn getting the downright worst meal of our trip. Really though, quite in contrast, Bill's breakfast was hot, fresh, and the only real meal we found through our many Alaskan B&B stays.

So, I don't know. Pick and choose as you will. Our final verdict: alright.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank requine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBfreedom, Owner at Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
We appreciate the reviewer taking time to write a candid review about our B&B, pointing out the positive as well as negative feedback. We felt compelled to respond to this review because we’d like to clarify a couple of issues that seemed to have made their stay with us a bit uncomfortable:

1. Sofa bed cannot be pulled out without removing the ladder.

This is not true. The ladder is not in the way when the sofa bed is being pulled out - it’s permanently nailed to the loft and not intended to be removed (for obvious safety reasons; so thanks for not trying to remove the ladder). That would be simply impractical, irrational and unsafe, as how the reviewer has described. We have posted a couple of pictures here to show how the bed can be pulled out without having to remove the ladder.

Our website gives a clear description and pictures of what Room #5 exactly is like just so prospective guests would know what to expect. Most of our guests consisting of small group or family like to book Room #5 because it can accommodate up to 4 persons (or even 6, if smaller-sized, although we’d much rather put them in Rooms #2 and #3 if there’s more than 4, for the same amount they would pay for Room #5) and the cost would be a lot less than they would pay for two rooms. When they make the booking we tell them we have a queen bed on the main floor and 2 beds up in the loft, enough to sleep 4 people, but a pull-out sofa bed is also available in case the additional guest(s) prefer to stay in the main floor. Unless they specifically ask for the sofa bed, we don’t make the bed to give the guests more room. For this season, the most number of guests we’ve had in Room #5 is four so there was no need for us to set up the sofa bed. Nevertheless, we always ask the guests to let us know if the room is OK, if they need us to make the sofa bed, and if they need help with anything or have questions. Had these guests let us know they needed to use the sofa bed after all we would have been glad to show how it‘s done, then they probably would have had a better experience rather than trying to figure out what seemed to be an unsolvable mystery.

2. Disappointment about the advice on local restaurant for getting their worst meal during their trip.

This issue is better addressed if they sent their complaints to the restaurant owner or write a review under the restaurants section. As courtesy to our guests, when they ask for restaurant recommendations, we tell them about the local restaurants we’ve been to and give a general description of what to expect from these restaurants. If the guests tell us what they’d like to eat, we try to suggest the restaurant that would most likely satisfy what they’re looking for, but of course, this is just based on our own personal experience with these restaurants. We never pressure anyone to go to or try to sell a particular restaurant. We can only suggest and give hints on what to expect but ultimately, it’s up to the guests to make their own choice. We should not and cannot be held liable for the restaurant’s shortcomings; that’s way beyond our control. We have no business or personal affiliations with any of the local restaurants in Talkeetna; we’re just trying to help our guests with our honest and subjective opinion when asked for advice.

In our ten years in this business, this is the first time we’ve had a negative complaint . We wish they have given us the opportunity to help them with their concerns at the time so we could have improved their stay. We value our guests satisfaction and do every way we can to meet their expectations, but really, we can’t always foresee everything they need unless they let us know.

Grace and Bill’s Freedom Hills B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in their best room. The room with an awesome view of Denali when its out. The room was large and comfortable and as mentioned before, had an awesome view. Our breakfast was excellent and made to order and our host made us feel like family and gave tips and pointers of what to do and where to go in Talkeetna. We enjoyed our stay and hopefully will return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trlhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Grace & Bill's is secluded and quiet. The view from room #1 are speculator. It'spretty quiet except for breakfast time when Bill is quite the conversationalist and cook. We saw Grace for a couple of minutes after we arrived and she seemed friendly, but that is only a first impression, since we never saw her again. Bill, on the other hand is the breakfast chef and local historian and wonderful. We LOVED this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eibees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

It far exceeded our expectations. Quiet, private, and those fabulous breakfasts!!! We had a great view, we were close to everywhere we wanted to go. We had a great space to play our games in the evenings. The moose in the yard was truly a bonus for our grandson! It was the first place we stayed on our trip and really set the standard for the trip, we were so fortunate to have found Grace and Bill's, thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn09MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

The rooms are nice and modern, furniture is comfortable. Our room had a small deck, which looked over a field and on a clear day probably has an amazing view. The B&B is located on a dirt road outside of town and was very quiet and secluded, but not too far from town. Our stay was very short. Breakfast was good and made to order. There are only a few rooms, so it's very cozy. We found the walls a bit thin and didn't feel like there was much privacy, but otherwise liked it. Bill was a great cook, was personable, has some great stories and shared some ideas for local hikes with us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big_ribbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at Grace and Bill’s Freedom Hills B&B a few weeks ago and were very pleased with our choice! Our room was nice and big, the breakfast was delicious, and Bill, our host, provided us with the most pleasant and entertaining introduction to Talkeetna and Mt. McKinley. Our one complaint is that we only had one day to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.8 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B

Property: Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Address: 22046 Freedom Dr., P.O. Box 502, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a great view of Denali and genuine hospitality from our B&B. Our property is located on a ridge overlooking the Alaska Range, where on a clear day you can see the top of North America. We have 3 rooms with private baths and 2 rooms with a shared bath. Families and small groups are welcome. Spectacular view, clean comfortable home setting, smoke-free, full and continental breakfast, reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace And Bill's Freedom Hills B&B Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing