We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I nice comfortable place to stay near Talkeetna, AK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Ranked #7 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What I nice comfortable place to stay near Talkeetna, AK!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the room #4 and I was very impressed. This was the best room in the whole B&B in my openion. It has it's own private accesses from the outside along with an accesses from the main kitchen on the inside. It is down stairs while the other rooms were all upstairs. It had it's own private bathroom and shower. A queen size bed and a couch that turns into another double. Just let them know in advance if you will be needing the couch for a bed and they will have it made and ready for you when you get there. Bill was great! He knows a lot about Alaska and has climbed the tallest mountain in North America, aka Mt Mckinnley. Great food, great atmosphere, great place, nice large deck for sitting outside! Very clean and neat! A great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rain982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My nine-year old son and I, on our way back from Barrow, Fairbanks, and Denali, stayed here for three nights in early July 2012. The skies had been overcast for a few days prior to our visit to Talkeetna and we reached here around 1am. Mother Nature gifted us with a wonderful view of the Denali range from the room. Standing on the porch of Room #1 and viewing Denali, and the Aspen, Birch, Cottonwood forests in between the B&B and Denali, was one of the sights that highlighted our Alaska tour.

The breakfast is good and Bill was gracious enough to prepare us a breakfast at 6.30am so that we could make it to the Wonder Lake Bus tour in Denali at 10am. Another day he was kind enough to let my son have a really late breakfast.

We enjoyed the fact that the B&B is not within Talkeetna "downtown." However, it is less than a 10-minute drive to the "downtown." This added to our excitement, since we were in Alaska to enjoy nature, and not for nightlife or city-life. In addition to moose, we saw red foxes on Comsat Road. The latter was a nice addition to my son's collection of wildlife that we came across in our Alaska trip. Standing on the porch of Room 1, one can always expect a moose or a black bear, or even a grizzly, to walk out of the woods anytime-- that's a nice feeling!

Room 1, where we stayed, had attached bath. It's also much bigger than other B&B rooms, with queen bed or queen+ twin beds, where we have stayed in Anchorage and Fairbanks. This room is on the second floor.

The rooms are cleaned daily. On the first night, we had checked in at 1am and had left at 7am for Denali. But when we came back at 1am the next morning after our Wonder Lake trip, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the room and the bed had been done. Grace and Bill take good care of the guests!

We are going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Grace and Bill were very accommodating to our needs. We showed up in Talkaneetna without a reservation and they had a cancellation. Grace came over and got everything ready for us. The room was very comfortable. I wish it had not been so rainy so we could have enjoyed the deck more! There was a covered area that we sat and enjoyed. Bill is a great cook and very interesting to talk to. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed one night in Talkeetna, a charming little town, on our way to Denali. We walked into Room #1 on the second floor and our jaws dropped. There was Denali and the adjoining mountain range before our eyes! The room was large with a nice sofa to sit and watch the view. When we woke up the next morning, we saw a moose and her two babies just off the deck. Even if you are not fortunate enough to see these two amazing sights, you will enjoy this B&B. It is quiet, and Bill makes a terrific breakfast. It is out of town, well worth a 10-15 minute drive. The road is paved except for a short section at the end, which is hard pack and in good condition.

Room Tip: A view of wildlife from the second floor deck was great, if you don't mind climbing one flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at freedom hills as part of a Trip to Denali and Talkeetna,great place to stay,super quiet,great views and excellent breakfast fare, Bill is great host and very helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in Room #4 for one night. It would have been nice to have stayed for two nights. The view from this B & B, including the huge outdoor deck, of Mt. McKinley and the surrounding area is breathtaking.
Upon our arrival, we were told we missed seeing Mt. McKinley by about one hour. The clouds were beginning to cover the mountain upon our arrival. The extra day to sit and relax and enjoy the view would have been wonderful.
Room #4 is in the main B & B building where there are a few other guest rooms available and a large kitchen/dining/living space available for guests to use.
Bill, with his long career as a cook and familiarity with many areas of Alaska, is a joy to talk to. We enjoyed the wonderful conversation that we had with Bill as he was preparing and serving breakfast to his guests. As each guest arrived in the dining room, he revealed the long list of breakfast options and then prepared and served it according to their wishes. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our stay at Grace and Bill's was great. The view from our room was spectacular. We could see the Denali mountain range from our room. We were so lucky because the mountains were not blocked by clouds as they usually are. Bill is a terrific cook, and he made us the best breakfast we had on our three week trip. Do not hesitate to book with them. We did have to drive up a gravel road to the top of the hill to get to their place. Maybe by now the road is paved? If you go slow up the hill you wont have any problem. It is worth the drive for the view. Bill said sometimes they see moose on their property. I was unlucky and did not see any moose the whole time we were in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
2.5 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
956 reviews
2.5 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B

Property: Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Address: 22046 Freedom Dr., P.O. Box 502, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a great view of Denali and genuine hospitality from our B&B. Our property is located on a ridge overlooking the Alaska Range, where on a clear day you can see the top of North America. We have 3 rooms with private baths and 2 rooms with a shared bath. Families and small groups are welcome. Spectacular view, clean comfortable home setting, smoke-free, full and continental breakfast, reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace And Bill's Freedom Hills B&B Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing