We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wash Your Dishes? Wash My Toliet!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eye of Denali Inn & Suite
Ranked #13 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wash Your Dishes? Wash My Toliet!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

This unhosted inn's best attraction is that it is one mile from town.

I rather resented paying good money for a night's stay and then be asked to wash up my dishes when I left, especially since it was clear that my toliet had not been washed properly after the last person's stay and it was up to me to do the washing!

The smell of diesel greeted me at the door and tired Costco muffins waited for me in the frig.

There wasn't a hairdryer, nor shampoo/conditioner--just a bar of soap with someone else's hair on it.

Every step taken upstairs could be heard downstairs.

Not a restful stay.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We had a great stay at the Eye of Denali in Talkeetna in January. Although the weather was terribly cold outside we were cozy and warm inside. This large (3 bedroom) cabin was perfect for our family and the price is right. It has a large open style living, dining kitchen area perfect for hanging out with family. We had fun cooking our meals and having family time There are nice big windows that look out onto the river and the Mt. McKinley. It was really beautiful! I wish we could have stayed longer and I hope to come back again someday. Next time hopefully in the summer so we can ride the bikes that are available for guests to use.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsinjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

We (three couples) were only able to stay one night. This was the best place we stayed in week of travel prior to a cruise. It was clean, comfortable, and convenient to Talkeetna. Breakfast was an added bonus.

  • Liked — Great "cabin" in the wilderness
  • Disliked — three bedroom, two bath
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyOldHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2007

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful getaway weekend in the Eye of Denali apartment (downstairs from the B&B rooms). The apartment is spacious and sparkly clean with a full kitchen, separate bedroom, and living room. It is close to town, but in a quiet location. The wonderful local travel agent who booked it for me showed me the B&B rooms upstairs and they are cozy and warm with a comfortable shared living area and full kitchen! We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedbugsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

We stayed at five B&Bs during a 2-week Alaskan vacation and this was the worst. There were bare wires near some of the light fixtures, some lights didn't work, and the sofa cushions in the common area are worn out. The bathroom for the Talkeetna room isn't finished (no baseboard trim so the linoleum doesn't cover the entire floor). Couldn't get hot water in the shower. Even though there were two of us, we were given one washcloth, one face cloth and two bath towels. The dishwasher hadn't been emptied from the previous guests. There were no chilled breakfast drinks, only coffee, tea and cocoa. Some of the food in the freezer was unwrapped. We were glad we had only reserved this place for one night, and there was a pancake breakfast at the VFW hall the next morning. My advice is to pay a little extra and stay at a decent place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else in Talkeetna
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

Our room was pretty small and could have used better curtains. It is close to the river but the disadvantage was that the sun was being reflected right into our room even with the curtain.

Otherwise, reasonably priced and has a well stocked kitchen but did not have any milk/juice.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

We have stayed at the Eye Of Denali more than once. The bedrooms are comfortable, the decor is homey, the shared kitchen/dining/living space is large, open and roomy.We found all the fixins of a good breakfast in the fridge, went out to the backyard to sit by the river and walked a few blocks into town!For a little more money,it even has a separate apartment downstairs if you don't want to feel like you are in a B&B. It is a great bargain and it made us feel right at home.The local travel agent runs the place and hooked us up with all kinds of activities for our whole Alaska trip.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
6.6 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
5.5 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
6.5 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eye of Denali Inn & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eye of Denali Inn & Suite

Property: Eye of Denali Inn & Suite
Address: Talkeetna Spur Rd, Mile 14, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Eye Of Denali Inn & Suite Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing