We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devil's Canyon - WOW!”

Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures is a family owned business that has been in operation for over 30 years. We are located approximately 2 hours north of Anchorage, just 14 miles off the Parks Highway, on your way north to Denali National Park or Fairbanks. There are 3 different tours that you can choose from, with varying lengths and adventure, each offering something different. All trips include our 1/4 mile nature walk where Naturalists will talk with you about the early settlers in the area (the Dena'ina Indians and trappers)and show how basically and rustically they lived with the authentic replications of their dwellings. Our premier trip is the Devil's Canyon Tour where you will be able to experience Class V whitewater in the 45' jet boat, all while staying safe, dry and comfortable. There is also the Three Rivers Tour, where you will travel on the Chulitna River. This river is a braided river which offers a unique and picturesque experience. Alaska is one of 4 areas in the world that has an extensive braided river system.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not my first trip to AK, but my first Mahay's! Thoroughly enjoyed the ride up, the rapids were killer and our captain, Israel had some great stories. Becca, our wildlife expert was really informative. Steve Mahay is super nice and has done a good thing for Talkeetna. The Athabascan replica village was thoughtfully laid out with plenty of room and time to explore. Lunch was nice. We saw a bear, eagles and all sorts of shorebirds. Sorry GoldenRetreivier found it boring. The best part about Alaska is the unspoiled wilderness. (from someone who was born there)

3  Thank igo4boat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

First off, let me thank you for being a returning guest to our great state of Alaska--we are seeing more and more returning guests. We love to entertain our guests and are happy you enjoyed it and appreciate our hard work. We have put a great deal of effort and research into our nature sight. Everyone does have a different sense of adventure and we are glad you enjoyed what we feel is a good adventure. Wild life is never a given, but I am glad that you were able to see so much. Alaska is such a wonderful place and it is true nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"devil's canyon"
in 97 reviews
"trapper's cabin"
in 41 reviews
"class rapids"
in 33 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 56 reviews
"the river"
in 178 reviews
"captain israel"
in 20 reviews
"fish camp"
in 13 reviews
"three rivers"
in 21 reviews
"box lunch"
in 21 reviews
"nature walk"
in 23 reviews
"white water"
in 16 reviews
"hour tour"
in 22 reviews
"curry"
in 10 reviews
"fun trip"
in 14 reviews
"short hike"
in 8 reviews
"bus driver"
in 6 reviews
"land portion"
in 9 reviews
Filter

508 - 512 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We found this Jet Boat tour boring. A very silty and brown colored river. Same scenery and no wildlife or mountains. Stopping at the replica of a miners and fisherman's camp was interesting but the jet boat experience did not live up to the description as being thrilling and exhilirating. It was the same long trip up and down a silty river.
The staff was friendly.

1  Thank GoldenRetrevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We really appreciate that you took the time to review your trip. It is unfortunate that we can't do anything about what nature does to our rivers--our rivers are all glacial fed and therefore full of glacial silt (pulverized rock from the glacier). Since the rivers are from different glaciers they are different colors and some guests do find that interesting. We do not sell any of our trips as seeing wildlife--there are times we do see wildlife, but then it is a perk. We don't want to set people up with the idea that they might see wildlife, as it is wild and we are unable to control them and don't want people to be disappointed. Also, if Mt McKinley is out, you can get a spectacular view of her from our trips, but only about 30% of summer guests are able to view the mountain. I am not sure which trip you took, but some of our trips certainly are more thrilling than others. I am glad, that you did at least enjoy the nature walk portion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We took the 6:30 PM wilderness jet boat tour based upon recommendations and the fact that we had a great coupon. Our captain was Eli and our guide was Abby.
It was overcast so we couldn't see Denali, but had a great time anyway. Eli was particularly knowledgeable about the area being an Alaska native, and we appreciate the insights he provided. Abby, also a Talkeetna native was delightful. I wasn't particularly looking forward to the land portion of the trip but in retrospect it was very enjoyable I'm glad we didn't miss it. Although the boat is enclosed, don't forget bug spray for the land portion. The mosquitoes live up to their reputation.

Thank Musemeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

I am glad that you listened to the recommendation and took our tour. Thank you for letting us know and for taking the time to write a review. I know our staff really appreciates hearing from our guests that they do a good job, as they do put their hearts into their job. We are really glad you enjoyed the land portion as we have done a great deal of research to make it authentic. And yes, our mosquitoes are an annoyance, even tho we do try to control them--unfortunately this year was a particularly bad year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was a bit skeptical about this adventure, but it turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip to Alaska! The jet boat itself is amazing, and how it works. Our driver Israel and his able assistant Abby, added value with their expertise and knowledge. It was an exciting event to sit at the base of a class VI rapids, to feel the rush of the water, and then turn the boat and shoot the rapids on the way down. Abby gave us a tour of a traditional Athabaskan fish camp, and a trappers cabin. Over all, I gave this a 5 star, totally fun with the element of excitement. Oh, the lunch was good too.

Thank MarHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

I am so glad that you took our trip, despite your skepticism and also thank you for your review. I will certainly pass along your compliments to our crew and also our sandwich maker! I like to think of our trip as still soft adventure, but with a hard adventure feel and I think you had that with the "element of excitement". We are truly blessed to be where we are and have the availability to take people into Devil's Canyon and let them be able to experience it. Thank you for taking a trip with us and again for you review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Never having been on a jet boat, I can not really compare it to other companies. We took the Devil Canyon Trip, in which you go thru part of some Class 6 Rapids. The guide and driver were both very friendly and knowledgeable. On the way up to the rapids, there were photo ops for Mt. McKinley and other scenery. The rapids were definitely the BEST part, but seemed to be over with too quickly. (maybe they should consider going backwards, to the point of getting out of the rapids and then doing a second run in to them again) The ride thru them was the best part! Lunch was a typical "box" style, but very pleasant. All and all a nice relaxing way to spend a few hours.

Thank Gruber123Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Manager at Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I would like to express my gratitude for you taking the time to go on a tour with us for for writing a review. I am glad that we could be you first jet boat ride, and they are all different. The term jet boat refers to the type of propulsion--our rivers are very shallow in spots and we aren't able to use props. There are some jet boat rides that get you wet and that is the thrill of them, but since our water is approximately 36 degrees (glacial fed), you don't want that type of ride with us :). Thank you for your suggestion about going into the canyon/whitewater a second time, we have thought about that, but time is an issue with that (although you never know when we might be able to change that). We do strive hard on making a good deli lunch and make them fresh, on site, each morning to ensure the freshness and quality. Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Mahay's Jet Boat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing