We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lodge with the incrediable view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foraker Restaurant

Foraker Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Foraker has all the flare of big city dining without the dress code. Instead you'll find amazing Alaska cuisine, linen tablecloths, top notch service, and an award winning wine list. Enjoy dining in a quiet and intimate atmosphere while taking in unobstructed views of the Three Rivers, Denali and the Alaska Range. Our culinary creations have been featured on the Food Network, and we've been honored to receive Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" every year for the past decade.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Lodge with the incrediable view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is one of the best lodge we stated in Alaska. The view is amazing. Food in the hotel is a combination of good food, good services, and good price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place, especially the service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The moment you walk in the lodge you feel like you are truly in Alaska and the restaurant is no exception. The food is local, the atmosphere log cabin-esque and the staff as warm and friendly as any other in the extremely welcoming state of Alaska and especially Talkeetna. Our waitress; Kelsie was warm, helpful, funny, and the overall cherry on top of the wonderful dining experience amidst the wonderful nature an people of Talkeetna, Alaska!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxpfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had lunch here on the outer deck on a nice sunny day. Having lunch with an excellent view of Mt. Mckinly and the flights taking off and landing is great. The service, menu and food were good

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank italygreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent food, awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The menu said one thing and we were served something different. Our waiter, Jordan, didn't greet us for a very long time and was not very attentive. Our food took over an hour and was not impressive. Overall not a great experience.. And less than par service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmp004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennelle P, Manager at Foraker Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
I would like to send my deepest apologies for the poor experience you had with us. My number one and two concerns are always our guests and our employees. We have taken your comments and are taking the proper steps to ensure our level of service is meeting the expectations of our guests. Thank you for sharing and I wish we could have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Hotel Management Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best view in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The restaurants and outside deck overlook the Alaska range (including Mt. McKinley), so be sure to get a window seat or sit outside if it is a clear day. Good service, good food. The desserts originally created by the Swiss chef are worth the trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank tlmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foraker Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Foraker Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing