We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all around in Talkeetna”

West Rib Pub and Grill
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Casual lunch and dinner dining. Large deck overlooking central downtown. Bar and inside seating. Filled with Alaska memorabilia. Alaskan beers on Tap. FRESH Alaska seafood including Halibut, Pacific Salmon, Rock Snapper. Daily Special on Alaska Red King Crab. Great 1/2# Natural Angus Burgers. Housemade desserts and soups. Seafood chowder and Caribou chili made daily. Open late 7 days/week during summer.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best all around in Talkeetna”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Agree the Tanner Crab is great even though I never heard of it before. Decent food all around and beer selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinerooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    195
    74
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and prices”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have eaten here several times and have always had a great experience. The food is great, very large portions and very reasonably priced. We always eat outside, which is nothing fancy, in fact, the whole place could be described as a bit funky. The food however, will not disappoint.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ownerCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Halibut Nuggets were outstanding, as was the High-gravity beer was exceptional. Interesting place in a very eclectic little town

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fsumtnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food-funky atmosphere :-)”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

First of all, Talkeetna is a small town. I mean really small-like 2 blocks long. We found the West Rib Pub and decided to give it a try. We ate inside-they also have a patio. It's one of those places where things have been added on a little at a time. The room we were in had a pool table which occupied a lot of space. The food was really good and so was the service. They had a special for the day but we got the fish and chips instead. And it was very good. I thought the price was pretty good, too. They had a lot of different kinds of beer but I stuck to a soda. I would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lou_louRome_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ate here twice”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I think it was the Ice Axe beer that made us eat here twice. My food was either stale or boring. But husband loved the beer. Perhaps it was my choices (seafood soup, then halibut tacos) since others in our party enjoyed their crab legs and salmon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NonFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Rib Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to West Rib Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing