We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food-funky atmosphere :-)”

West Rib Pub and Grill
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Casual lunch and dinner dining. Large deck overlooking central downtown. Bar and inside seating. Filled with Alaska memorabilia. Alaskan beers on Tap. FRESH Alaska seafood including Halibut, Pacific Salmon, Rock Snapper. Daily Special on Alaska Red King Crab. Great 1/2# Natural Angus Burgers. Housemade desserts and soups. Seafood chowder and Caribou chili made daily. Open late 7 days/week during summer.
Rome, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food-funky atmosphere :-)”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

First of all, Talkeetna is a small town. I mean really small-like 2 blocks long. We found the West Rib Pub and decided to give it a try. We ate inside-they also have a patio. It's one of those places where things have been added on a little at a time. The room we were in had a pool table which occupied a lot of space. The food was really good and so was the service. They had a special for the day but we got the fish and chips instead. And it was very good. I thought the price was pretty good, too. They had a lot of different kinds of beer but I stuck to a soda. I would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lou_louRome_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    195
    74
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ate here twice”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I think it was the Ice Axe beer that made us eat here twice. My food was either stale or boring. But husband loved the beer. Perhaps it was my choices (seafood soup, then halibut tacos) since others in our party enjoyed their crab legs and salmon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NonFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A don't miss on your Alaska Trip”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Put yourself into the total Alaska frame of mind with West Ribs Caribou berger, parmesian garlic fries and top it off with an Ice Axe Ale handcrafted especially for West Rib by the Glacier Brewing. Rustic but fun, great staff not priced to rip off the tourists. This is just one of the highlights of the menu, but one you shouldn't miss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tanner crab!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were glad we followed the waiters recommendation to get the tanner crab and homer split, got to try fresh halibut and fresh silver salmon, giant crab legs for 24.95 can't beat anywhere! Beer was cold and delicious, we loved it. Service was fit for a king! 5 stars! Next time I'm there I'll get the seafood combination platter, and dessert afterwards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great caribou burgers”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Burgers were fantastic and tasty. Nice little bar area to sit in and have food, or the restaurant attached is fun and interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nellpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Rib Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to West Rib Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing