We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in sleepy Talkeetna @ Chalet B&B”
Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #3 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in sleepy Talkeetna @ Chalet B&B”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Andi and Dave were wonderful. The B&B was renovated just 3 years ago. The rooms were very comfortable. Hospitality was A++. First class accommodations all the way. Definitely the best place to stay in the Talkeetna area. Location is great. Wonderful pillow top mattresses that provided a great night sleep.

Room Tip: Room in he main house is most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
140
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in late June 2013 while in Telkeetna. This was an amazing stay to end an amazing vacation. We are lucky to be able to travel some and this is among the top B&B we have stayed out. Our top three in no order are the Talkeetna Chalet, the highfield house in Trim Ireland and the Aaron Shipman house in DC. All three have the same relaxed, like it is your home feel.
The Chalet has that feel, I felt very comfortable in making hot tea of an evening and watching the TV in the huge commons area to standing in the kitchen having coffee in the morning talking to Andi and Dave while they tried to make breakfast.
Breakfast was very good. We had a lot of good food and even better conversations with the other guests and our hosts.
We were in Talkeetna for one reason and that was to fly to the mountain and try to land on one of the glaciers. The weather did not look good the first day and worse the second. Dave and Andi went out of their way to call around and try to find last minute fishing guides that were not full up. They actually found one that had time that afternoon and a couple that could get us out fishing the next day.
After talking it over with them we decided to give the weather a chance and try for the flight. I am glad for their help as we got a couple hour window later that afternoon to fly around the mountain and land on an isolated glacier. That is a review of its own.
We stayed in the mountain whispers suite. This is a very large room with a nice ensuite. This room also has a private outside entrance. We were very comfortable in this room and it would have been very comfortable for an extended stay. This room does have blackout shades. We came to find out this is important in Alaska in June.
This is a nice sized B&B. 1st floor has rooms and common area that includes a guest computer and wifi.
Second floor has a large kitchen, large dining area, huge commons area and a porch eating area.
This area has a huge wall of windows that they tell me :) you can see the mountain from. It was rainy and drizzly while there but on a sunny day I bet the view is breath taking.
There is a telescope and a set of nice binoculars for the guest to use, the commons area is nicely furnished including TV area, coffee/Tea and wrap around porch.
Third floor is the living area for Dave and Andi.
We enjoyed our stay there very much and if we ever venture that direction again we would stay there again in a heartbeat, and for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room we were in but really, just stay here, all rooms are going to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for 2 nights on our drive up to Denali. Our room was clean and nicely decorated and located on the first floor. It had a separate entrance and a newly remodeled private bathroom. The breakfast room and living room are upstairs and we were very lucky and able to enjoy views of Denali all day long as the sky was clear. The whole house is decorated with Alaskan artwork and beautiful photographs. Andi and Dave were very helpful and sweet! Don't miss taking the Talkeetna Air Taxi with a walk on the glacier. We have stayed at many B&Bs and HIGHLY recommend you stay here. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Our room downstairs in the front of the house was pretty and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here during the heat wave a couple weeks ago. Even though we did not have air it was OK. Dave and Andie thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Would recommend staying here. Wish we could have stayed longer. Loved the Denali Mountain view from the dining table!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Talkeetna Chalet B & B for only one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in one of the cabins provided by our hosts. The cabin was well equipped with a kitchen (microwave, refrigerator, sink, utensils, etc.), comfortable bed, futon, flat screen TV and a beautiful bathroom!! The cabin was clean, comfortable and cozy. Our hosts, Andie and Dave, were wonderful. I felt like family. A full breakfast was provided up in the main house, in a beautiful dining room with excellent views of Mt. McKinley. DVD's, games, books and a community computer are there for all guests. The location is great: Not too far from town, not too far off the highway and near some good hiking trails. I recommend Talkeetna Chalet B & B for anyone and would stay again in a heartbeat. This was my first trip to Alaska, and our stay here enhanced the experience. I hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the rooms in the main house, but judging by the house itself, they must be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights in one of the beautiful new cabins. It was extremely well designed, comfortable and very clean. Dave and Andi were very friendly and helpful! The breakfasts were excellent and the view from the dining room / living room is spectacular. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and I have to say that this is probably my favorite one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dave and Andie are truly exceptional hosts. Beautiful clean home, hot tub, comfy bed, recently remodeled bathroom, Dish satellite, tons of movies, tons of games, great breakfast... What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
960 reviews
3.1 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Property: Talkeetna Chalet
Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style, in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing