We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure with a fantastic view.”
Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #3 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is our second stay at the Talkeetna Chalet, and since our mission was not accomplished this trip, there will be a third. But enough of our adventures, let's talk about the "Chalet", the owners Andi and David are just fantastic, accommodating, friendly, and delightful hosts for a beautiful Bed and Breakfast.

They are about 60 miles south of Denali, and the views are just fantastic, and the photography opportunities from there location are great. You sit at the breakfast table and watch the sun rise casting a pink glow on Denali in the winter. The rooms are charming, nicely decorated, and the showers have nice hot water. Andi cooks breakfast, with the menu changing every morning you could have french toast (but it is her special recipe), or pancakes (David's special recipe), or scrambled eggs; and those come with fruit, yogurt, juice, bacon, tea or coffee. We were never hungry after breakfast.

If you want or need something, all you need to do is ask. If they have it you got it!

So, if you are planning a trip to Talkeetna and you need a place to park your body for a couple of nights, and yes you should stay a couple of nights just to spend some time in "downtown" Talkeetna, this is the place for you. "We shall return!"

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 267 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at the Talkeetna Chalet for two nights in late May 2012. My primary purpose in coming to Talkeetna was to take a day flight over Denali National Park. The weather while I was there was touch-and-go, and Andi, the host, was so helpful in contacting Talkeetna Air Taxi for me each day to see when I might be able to fly. I finally got in the air my last day in Talkeetna and it was well worth it!

The inn itself is nicely appointed and very comfortable. I stayed in the Denali Suite, which was very cozy and quiet. Wifi, cable, and dozens of DVDs to choose from while relaxing. I also took advantage of the outdoor hot tub one day, which was a very cool experience near the woods on the edge of the property.

The inn has great views and a very convenient location to town and nearby activities.

The breakfast was amazing and Andi was very accommodating in scheduling breakfast a little earlier or later to meet my scheduling needs (I was there in off-season; it may be harder to get breakfast at a specified time when the inn is full in season). Andi also recommended local restaurants (which were great!), and nearby hikes and offered warm cookies upon my return. The personalized service was a great touch.

I would definitely return to Talkeetna Chalet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were looking to get away from it all and not be bothered by people, traffic or any other distractions. This was the perfect choice. We stayed in one of the cabins. We told our hosts that we just wanted privacy and that is exactly what we got. Please also note that upon arrival our hosts offered us everything from movies to a fresh cooked breakfast. The cabin comes with a flat screen tv that was huge. Direct TV and tons of movie choices. The cabin heat was good and we could adjust it to our liking. A small frig, kitchen sink, microwave and all the needed items to have a meal in the cabin were provided. I would recommend this place and of course staying in the cabins.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that this location is NOT in the heart of Talkeetna. You will need transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were more than delighted when we pulled up at the Chalet. Andi, our host, greeted us and showed us the rooms which were great. Our group consisted of 10 x Ozzie travellers having an Alaskan adventure and we absolutely loved the Talkeetna B&B. The location was great being close to town, the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfy and the breakfast was fantastic. The advice from Andi to do the McKinley flight/landing was a highlight of our trip as was the restaurants Andi recommended. Thanks Andi and Dave for the experience, it was much more than expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10_Ozzie_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were delighted with our stay here. Dave and Andi built these cabins themselves, and everything used is very good quality. It was like staying in a new house - everything was shiny new and clean. The aroma of spruce wood was the best part of our stay. Andi took care to make the bed for my 4-yr old too since we were coming in late (driving straight from Anchorage). Wonderful hospitality and care. The hot breakfast in the main house was very satisfying. If we stay in Talkeetna again, we will definitely stay with Dave and Andi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamataDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This B&B really exceeded my expectations. The quality was top notch, the accommodations were so comfortable and attractive, the breakfast was delicious, and the owner was so welcoming. We were there one night. She had lots of good advice for us and was very flexible. The views from her living room and decks are fantastic and you are close to the town of Talkeetna. She had good recommendations of other things to do in the area. If I had time, I could have easily relaxed here for another day or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed with our in-laws in the two new cabins detached from the main chalet. They were very clean and comfortable and we wished we could stay longer. Our hosts in the main house were entirely charming and engaging and we were very happy to be there. Breakfast was superb. We didn't get to see Denali from the spectacular picture window because of clouds, but the area immediately around the chalet is gorgeous and was, itself, a lovely view. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,093 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
298 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: $228 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style, in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing