We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great log cabin with super location right in town”
Review of Talkeetna Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talkeetna Cabins
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had looked everywhere for a little cabin with a kitchen for our Talkeetna stay. We were visiting the area with our 14 year old grandson and had stayed in hotels for the first 5 days of our Alaska trip and just wanted to BBQ, etc - - just tired of eating every meal out. These cabins were perfect; nice and clean, large loft bedroom, living room complete with a puzzle and a kitchen with everything we needed (including a shared BBQ). We enjoyed visiting with the other guests out in the grassy area while we cooked and even got out and played frisbee. Lots to do in the area; Denali wildlife, flightseeing with a glacier landing on Mt McKinley with Talkeetna Air, fishing (grandma caught a 15 in rainbow), a jet boat ride and a visit to the local ranger station with a very interesting film on the McKinley climbers. There are only 6 cabins on the property and perfectly located just 1/2 block off the main street of Talkeetna. We will definitely recommend this property to any of our friends who are planning a trip to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredkelleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's right near "downtown" Talkeetna so it's easy to walk wherever you want to go. The owners are very friendly and gave us helpful info about hikes in the area. The only negative is the hot water heater is only 18 gallons, so you need to space out showers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGFrosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights in early June 2011. This was by far the most comfortable accomodations of our entire trip to Alaska. Others were good, but this cabin was very spacious. Very good value for the price. There was room to spread out with 2 double beds and a single upstairs and a fold down futon downstairs. Very well stocked kitchen area with a breakfast bar so you can prepare some meals on your own. Very clean and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We live in Alaska and like to spend weekends visiting other towns. We've stayed in cabins and campsites all over, and this one is now our favorite. It was, very very clean. Spacious too, and the full kitchen is handy. Location can't be beat - you can easily walk to everything in Talkeetna.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earlybird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I can't agree more with all the previous reviews of this property. First impressions are extremely important and our cabin really delivered on this. We arrived quite late from Anchorage and were greeted by a sign welcoming us and telling us we had cabin #1. When we entered we found an exceptionally clean cabin and a note from Peg and Kevin with their phone number asking us to call if we had any questions. The cabin is very spacious, with a sofa/sleeper bed and recliner on the first floor, along with a very complete kitchen and eating counter, and a loft with two beds. There is a flat screen tv with satellite reception that is outstanding if you need it. We really appreciated all the space as we travel with lots of luggage and never felt cramped in this cabin.
The location is perfect. You are one block from main street and it's a five minute walk to the airport if you plan to take a flight seeing trip to Danali. You simply couldn't ask for better when visiting Talkeetna. I know since on our visit last year we stayed in Anchorage and took the car to visit Talkeetna (a 2.5 hr drive). Not something I would recommend.
The cabins are decorated with a large amount of ornamental ironwork. When you take time to look at it closely you realize how exceptional it is. Kevin is the blacksmith artist responsible for it. We took the time to go next store and talk with Kevin. The office is full of exMples of his work and it's truly worth the time to see it. He is an amazing artist in iron.
We definitely plan to visit Alaska again and we will definitely stay at the Talkeetna Cabins again. Why wouldn't we? They have everything.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This isn't going to be a luxury stop, but the cabins are extremely clean and in a great location to walk the streets of Talkeetna.

My only complaint would be that we did not have a queen bed--just a full, but overall a great property that I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank zlw2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a great property in a great location. The cabins are on a side road in town. They are very convenient yet off the main road so it was very peaceful and quiet. Fun way to stay with all the conveniences of home. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Lovely people.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzz0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.3 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
57 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
3.5 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Cabins

Address: 22137 C Street, Downtown, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range: $175 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful spacious log cabins built by the owners for comfort and pleasure. All of the cabins have complete kitchens, living rooms with Dish TV, wireless, private bathrooms. Normal stairs lead up to the bedroom area which has queen size beds. If you are looking for clean and relaxation come and enjoy Talkeetna Cabins. There is also an on site laundry area and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Cabins Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing