We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Denali Wilderness Hike with Leah

We thoroughly enjoyed our Denali Wilderness Hike with Leah. Alaska Nature Guides arranged our... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
HappyTravelling999
Talkeetna Lakes Hike with Dan

This was a very nice evening hike around the lakes. It's an easy hike with little elevation... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2018
jwbrown72
,
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Read all 100 reviews
  
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
96
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denali wilderness great hike mile hike byers lake rain gear blueberries creek trail beautiful vistas princess cruises lush forest easy hike evening hike nice snack snack bag hiking poles heli hike edible plants
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 100 of 100 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family had the best time hiking in Denali State Park with Alaska Nature Guides. Byers Lake is beautiful, the guide incredibly knowledgeable and the company was well equipped for all types of hikers and weather. To make this a full day experience I would suggest adding the kayak trip which was great and an excellent complement to the hike.

The guide was great in showing us the unique fauna, perfect spots for photos, pointing out the Trumpeteer Swans and be a neat laid back guy. We loved learning from him not just about the lake but the wonders of Talkeetna. It was definitely a highlight of the trip.

Thank warnertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Alaska Nature Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your enthusiastic review of your Byers Lake Nature Walk with us. We feel incredibly fortunate to guide in such a beautiful, peaceful, and fascinating place. I'm so glad to hear how much you appreciate it! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of enjoying a custom nature guided visit to parts of the Denali State Park. I had made arrangements a couple of months earlier to have a half day trip, focusing on great places to learn about and take pictures of nature - and of course, Mt McKinley. Howard, the owner and guide made a plan based on making it most convenient for us. We spent a fabulous morning taking pictures and learning about the park and it's flora and fauna. Howard took us to several select spots that he knew to be ideal vantage points to take terrific photos. These were not just the typical places either. We got great shots of McKinley on the side of a side road, a tiny junco nest on the side of a trail, an old cabin decaying in the woods to name a few. Most enjoyable to us was Howard's vast knowledge about the geology of the mountains, origins of the lakes, wildlife and plant species. We learned so much about the area. Howard is a laid back guide who has an obvious passion for all things related to nature. He also made great restaurant recommendations (Flying Squirrel and Spinach Bread in Talkeetna.). A real highlight of our Alaskan vacation!

1  Thank wpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Alaska Nature Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

People sometimes wonder why a guide would be needed in a place where anyone can go on their own. Thank you for your eloquent explanation! I'm glad you appreciate all the hidden gems and surprises you got on your trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I teach fifth grade and have used the day tour services of Alaska Nature Guides for a class field trip for several years. They have consistently done an outstanding job (as is evidenced by the fact that I keep returning to their business). Their guides are personable and knowledgeable, and they have worked with me to create experiences appropriate to my group. They would also be perfect for first-time visitors to the area or for locals who want a great day planned for themselves or visiting guests. They can individualize experiences to accomodate varying levels of adventure and exertion, and they are a great group of people!

Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Alaska Nature Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for the great review, Beverly! We love doing customized educational programs for school groups and others, covering anything from plants, wildlife, and other natural history topics to historical walking tours, photo safaris, hikes, and presentations on climbing Denali. We're so glad you enjoyed your Photo Scavenger Hunt with us, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Alaska Nature Guides, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews