We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Worth a Look. ”

Talkeetna Historical Society Museum
Ranked #5 of 35 things to do in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Worth a Look. ”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

For what they have to work with, very nice museum and local culture display. Fortly an old school house, and half school room and half local Alaska 1890s and 1900's white culture displays. Not much native Alaskan evidence to see. Wonderfully friendly and talkative curator.

Helpful?
1 Thank mnb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    84
    26
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Ranger gave us an awesome talk about the trek up Mt. McKinley. Very interesting and very educational. Do it if you have the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
367 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Slice of History”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you're interested in Talkeetna's history or Denali mountaineering, this is a great place to check out. The exhibits deserve a look, and all have some interesting stories to tell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming museum in a charming town”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First of all, everyone we met in Talkeetna were just nice folks-friendly and helpful. And when you go to the Historical Society Museum you are greeted by even friendlier ladies who man it on a volunteer basis. They reminded me of my mom who works tirelessly for the historical society back home.

The museum isn't terribly fancy but has genuine articles which belonged to the local explorers and pilots who blazed the early trails of discovery of Denali.

In the third of their three little buildings, there is a topo relief carving of Denali and surrounding mountains. Check in the morning as to what time there will be a ranger giving a talk there. He gives a talk about the historical climbs of the mountain, its heroes and its dangers. The ranger who talked to us had personally climbed the south summit 5 times and the north summit (shorter but more difficult) once. I was impressed.

Since Talkeetna is the take-off spot for most climbers of Denali, the rangers are very well informed about current climbing conditions.

Anyway, I give the museum a big thumbs up. It is genuine, not touristy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg and Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary Alaska Trip”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our time in Talkeetna was on a non travel day on our trip. We were just taking a casual walk through town and decided to tour the museum. It was very nicely set up in several older buildings. The displays did a good job of depicting how life was in Alaska during the early settlements. I especially enjoyed the room that was dedicated to Mt McKinley and the early climbers and expeditions. It really made our trip the next day north to view the mountain more interesting. Definitely worth the price of admission.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank as3dgfad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talkeetna Historical Society Museum also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing