We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Historic Building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tigard
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Historic Building”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Its an old, but reasonably refirbished 'Alaskan Roadhouse. Rooms are small and basic and bathrooms are shared. If you want a feel for what it might have been 80 years ago, you should stay here. Right Downtown, convenient to everything. Breakfast is good and portions are plentiful. Staff somewhat 'disjointed'..be patient.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trippin2010Tigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    101
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
113
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed here for one night based on the cheap price. After booking, I was pleased to see it on Man vs. Food and got excited about it. It was very rustic and seemed European to me with the community room and everyone sitting around reading and chatting. This is definitely a no frills place to stay, perfect for all the climbers that I'm sure come through here. The room was very cute and cozy and the only thing I would update is maybe a tv in the room (we like to fall asleep to it, but i know this wouldn't matter in the least to most people). Not too big a fan of communal showers, however, for the price, I can't complain. It was central to the tiny town and everything was two steps away. We were woken at about 8ish in the morning with the restaurant filling for breakfast, but had to be up anyways so didn't mind. We tried the 'standard' for breakfast and, because of the size, were able to share the half portion and added one of the huge sourdough pancakes. I loved the food and would highly recommend it. Also got some fudge to go and wish I'd tried the huge cinnamon rolls! This place is a must try even if it's just for the food!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I went up to Talkeetna in March for a Wilderness First Responder course. I got into the class on a cancellation so I had no time to prep for the trip and I had to bring my dog with me. There was another event going on in town so the Roadhouse was busy when I first arrived but the staff was incredibly accommodating, flexible, and helpful. I was able to bring my dog up to our room at night and that was SOOOO helpful!! The price of the room was very reasonable, the food downstairs was excellent, and the common areas were great places to study with people from the class. Thanks you guys! You made my trip way more enjoyable than it would have been!!!

The only drawback is that the upstairs rooms are really noisy--the floors and beds creak badly and sound travels between the rooms... The downstairs bunk room was fine though, and the bathrooms are convenient.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I LOVE the roadhouse. We stayed in one their cute cabins, cozy and comfortable. Breakfast is sourdough pancakes that are bigger than the plate. If you are in Alaska you MUST spend a night in Talkeetna and at least eat breakfast at the roadhouse (I know the hostel-style accomodations aren't for everyone). God, I wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellidori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

a fun place to go. and reasonable, only $89 a night, summer rate for 2 beds, in a room, we had # 5, quieter on 2nd floor, nice selection of books in room. Bathroom is 5 steps away with big tub/shower. A very friendly place, nearby river, and shops, and brewery across the street.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed in the "L'il Cabin in the back - great if you want the Roadhouse but not the guest rooms. If you're looking for 5 stars, go elsewhere. If you want Alaska, come here. As others have noted, fantastic breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul_Lipschitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Breakfast was delicious. Only a few menu options, but what they made was fresh and tasty. Most people could probably share the 1/2 portion of eggs and potatoes. I overheard the waitress tell another table that the full portion was 6-8 eggs! I ordered the half portion of rhurbarb pancake and it was literally falling off my plate it was so big. Bottomless coffee and a good looking bakery. A great spot for breakfast.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dd-bionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.4 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Property: Talkeetna Roadhouse
Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing