We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food for such a remote town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food for such a remote town!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Amazing food and great big portions! This was our last meal before climbing the mountain (last fresh meal for 23 days!!!). Good ole' cooking, nothing fancy, you'll definitely get your moneys worth here. You really cant spend more than $20 per person. You'll eat like a king on this amount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcrossThePond86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    99
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
63
106
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
462 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This town is good and the inn was right in the heart of the village center. The Inn is old and I think their were about 3-4 rooms with 1 community bathroom.

The Bad:
Only negative I have is the room doors have small old key holes in them so technically someone could look into your room from outside.

The Good:
We had to change out reservation after booking and they did so without charging us more or giving of us a hassle doing so.
Bed was comfortable.
Great view of village from room window.
Bathroom was interesting and clean.
Restaurant is downstairs and its good. This can be bad for those that can't sleep with noise in the wee early morning hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We drove down from Denali and were going to go to the West Rib but one of our Holland American guides told us to go to The Roadhouse as the food was homemade and better. So we did. It was worth the 2 hour drive to get there, the food was amazing and the bakery items were to die for. We took cookies back with us and they didn't last the drive back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed meeting fellow travelers and hearing their adventures. Great town, so glad we stayed longer than the "cruise tourists". Food was tasty and loved sitting in front window people watching. Really enjoyed the Museum and Ranger Talk from a climbers perspective. Felt like we knew the locals after 2 days! Our room was small and suitable. We're mid 50's and have camped and "roughed it" and had 14 more nights in NICE cabins planned. However, the bathrooms/showers were yucky - had to wear sandals and they kinda smelled and floor tiles were broken and dangerous, toilets wouldn't flush, etc. Employees were very nice...except for the OWNER. OMG - I read the info provided...on last night started load of laundry at 7:30 p.m. and asked for quarters for dryer....she read me the riot act about laundry ends at 8 p.m. so we don't disturb guests. She didn't even realize I was a guest!!! She was completely rude and when her machine coin slot jammed she still didn't bother apologizing. I reread info and it stated must be done by 9 p.m.....I did finish prior to 9 and didn't APPRECIATE the lecture & rudeness. Talkeetna was fun town, we flew with TAT around Denali, went on fishing charter with Phantom for salmon. Sky High Pizza pie was fun, querky and delicious! Met the mayor (the cat), went to the Thai restaurant, delicious and reasonable, and attended the play. We'd eat at the Roadhouse but stay elsewhere next visit, sadly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebHap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 2. Comfortable and warm. Arrived at 10pm and request to save us pie for late night snack granted! Plus it was excellent- esp the rhubarb and apple- and massive portion! Shared bathrooms clean and shower had plenty of hot water. Tea/coffee provided for guests. Comparable to nicer private room in hostel and at 68.50 inc tax good value for Alaska.

Breakfast next morning was good and unlike other places not rushed out even though busy. Had half portions of standard breakfast and sourdough pancakes with raspberry and walnut. Nice food, generous portions and good value. Nice to chat to other guests.
Took home a Rudy in a Parka-reindeer roll- plus a Razzie- both delicious but huge feed!
Service was very warm and friendly- a surprise after many nights in Alaska(!)- and would return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherlin, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been visiting the Road house every time I pass thru Talkeetna for over 15 years and it is the best brealfast and pastries I have ever had. The rooms are clean and affordable. I have stayed in the bunk room several times. Didnt overnight this time but with advance booking rooms are a bargain. Dont miss this place....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the museum apartment, which was the floor above. There were four of us and one couple had a separate bedroom, the other slept on a futon bed in the lounge area. Nice enough, first time sleeping on a futon bed. Lucky we were really tired as it was not as good as a normal bed. The shower was disappointing very little pressure and by the time the third person got in there it was cold as the hot water had run out. Great value and location as you can walk anywhere in the town. You get free museums tickets which is well worth checking out. Good value and free wifi. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
253 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Property: Talkeetna Roadhouse
Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing