We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Road House!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous Road House!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

They were waiting for us when we arrived at the train station and took us to the RoadHouse. The driver was also the owner. She gave us a tour of the town, which is small and quirky, recommended a few places to eat, and to shop. We ate at the road house, the food was fabulous! Hugh portions, and the bakery was phenominal also. Room was wonderful! This is a historic building, over 100 years old. Log cabin like. We stayed in room 4. Which was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable beds. Bathroom was maybe 10 feet from bedroom door. I have every intention of staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    99
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
63
106
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Roadhouse twice in the past and have lived with their cumbersome booking process. But in trying to make a reservation for March 2013 my patience came to an end.

In June I made a reservation through their website, where you must give your credit card info even before you know if there is availability. About two weeks after making the request online I sent them an EMail saying that my plans had changed and I would not be staying there as requested. Received nothing until yesterday when they confirmed my original request.

Obviously they never check EMail (that was one reason I had miscommunication last year). Also, the fact that they are the only lodging establishment in Alaska that I have encountered that requires credit card information before even knowing if there is availability makes this one place I can not recommend anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Notice that I've rated this place very good, but it is so different from typical lodging it is hard to know if that's really fair, or not. My wife and I and our adult daughter shared the Museum Apartment (above the Talkeetna Museum) for one night. It is about a block from the Roadhouse proper. We had a large common living area (including a single bed), a separate bedroom, a separate bath, and a kitchen / dining area at the end of common room. We paid $168 for the three of us for one night. The furnishings, how to describe? Mixed "thrift shop" might be the best. For us old folks, its took us back to our college days when were opting for cheap lodging (not that this place is cheap). It was clean. (When I asked my wife what to say, she said: "Say it was great.") No TV reception, but they did have a set with tape player attached and a good movie library. It was very private and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
239 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thanks again for another awesome year of great breakfasts, coffee, wonderful bakery & fellowship with people from around the world and the USA. Loved the Reindeer Patty Pie and Monster Cookie. Twice a day at the Roadhouse will spoil a man. The mornings are very busy and sometimes crazy, but grab a seat anywhere it is open, relax, and enjoy. The pancakes are the size of a plate. At night the menu is limited to several great ideas of soups, sandwiches, and other house specials which are terrific. The variety of pies are most unusual too and cooked daily. It is a must do going to Talkeetna, Alaska. If you take the train this is your first stop going into the town.... no red lights and one stop sign. You will enjoy the community. If you sleep here it is not the Hilton....just the basics. It is an old Roadhouse of yesterday. It is a great Alaskan adventure! 5th year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenriverford28036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I agree with the review by AlaskaDreams. We also stayed in room #2 in the Roadhouse and were very surprised at how quiet it was in the evening. We loved the charm of the place. We felt as if we had discovered a bit of what Alaska might have been before tourists. I also loved having an opportunity to do a laundry. The washer and dryer were just down the hall from our room and you can buy detergent and fabric softener for a very reasonable price. We did not eat dinner there but had one of the best breakfasts on our trip in the morning. We each ordered the half breakfast and the portion was huge! The staff of both the restaurant and roadhouse were very friendly and helpful. Even though you have to share the bathroom, there are three bathrooms with showers and one half bath for 3 inside bedrooms and the cabin. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Stay in room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Talkeetna Roadhouse is an old inn and restaurant located on the main street of Talkeetna, AK. I stayed in room #2 located between the shared bath/shower rooms and a lounge area with TV/internet. It was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday night. The restaurant (located in the same building) features home cooking - meals are served family style at large tables. The breakfast and baked goods (monster cookies!) combined with cheerful customer service were memorable. I would recommend the Roadhouse for travelers who want to experience a part of Alaska that is a little off the beaten track.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here on our Alaska road trip. Loved the rustic charm of this little cabin. Had a musty smell when we first entered but I supposed that is expected. A queen and single bed in the cabin with two single mattresses in the loft. Noise level was low even though the cabin was just behind the roadhouse. Shared bathroom and toilet is just a few steps away in the main building of the roadhouse. Free coffee in the roadhouse for guests. When we have our meals there, we didn't have to order and pay for coffee! Our kids loved the common room which was cozy and has plenty of boardgames to keep them occupied. Lady at the check-in was very friendly and very knowledgeable with information not just on Talkeetna but on other places of interest in Alaska. Talkeetna is a very small town and for us on a road trip, one night was just enough and were glad that we chose the little cabin. And don't forget to try their delicious sourdough pancake (but do get the half order if you are a small eater)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
253 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Property: Talkeetna Roadhouse
Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing