We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something charmingly different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Something charmingly different”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here on our Alaska road trip. Loved the rustic charm of this little cabin. Had a musty smell when we first entered but I supposed that is expected. A queen and single bed in the cabin with two single mattresses in the loft. Noise level was low even though the cabin was just behind the roadhouse. Shared bathroom and toilet is just a few steps away in the main building of the roadhouse. Free coffee in the roadhouse for guests. When we have our meals there, we didn't have to order and pay for coffee! Our kids loved the common room which was cozy and has plenty of boardgames to keep them occupied. Lady at the check-in was very friendly and very knowledgeable with information not just on Talkeetna but on other places of interest in Alaska. Talkeetna is a very small town and for us on a road trip, one night was just enough and were glad that we chose the little cabin. And don't forget to try their delicious sourdough pancake (but do get the half order if you are a small eater)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    101
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
113
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colgate, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were in room 2 on the main floor of the main building. A basic room with a sink and a share bathroom. We didn't have to share the bathroom as the other rooms were empty. Very friendly and helpful staff. Meals are served at large tables which encourages mingling among the guests and locals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauriePoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Breakfast was yummy and huge portion. The beds were not too comfortable, however, the room and the house has charm. We were fortunate we were the only guests for the two nights we were there as the bathroom was to be shared. The place was quiet and we went on a 1 am star gazing trip around town.

Room Tip: All rooms are different. Consider the time of year and hours of darkness when choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kare-M327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

As soon as we walked into the Roadhouse we was made to feel very welcome. We stayed in room 2, which had a very comfortable double bed with ample space. The bathrooms are shared but do not be put off by this. There are ample available, we was never waiting to use one. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers lovely and hot. Hairdryers are also available which was very handy. The family dinning area is fantastic, you get to enjoy your very delicious breakfast talking to the locals and climbers who have summited Mckinley. The Roadhouse has such a wonderful atmosphere and is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

$68 a night! Are you kidding me? $68! For that price we didn't get a private bath but we did get a clean no-frills room, ridiculously friendly and attentive service, and tons of rustic charm. It's the type of place where you head to the common area at night to write postcards at the writing desk or on the couch by the fireplace. And the food in the cafe is darn good. The bakery is outstanding...the best cinnamon rolls on the planet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaySnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My third stay here and as always a treat. We stayed upstairs, the classic Roadhouse sign out our window on Main Street. Yes, the bathroom is shared by 3 rooms. But if this doesn't bother you, staying here is as relaxing as you want. Sit in a rocker on the front porch, maybe try out the piano or guitar in the living room, read a book in the library area with computer access. Meet fellow travellers. And in walking distance of everything, no need to drive after visiting the classic beverage establishments at the other end of the street. Big breakfasts using their wonderful bakery. Go!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms share 4 bathrooms with dining room guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hard to describe the Roadhouse in words, quaint and rustic don't do it justice. Let me first say that Trish the owner is an excellent host, going out of her way to please. The hotel itself is a mixture of downstairs and upstairs rooms. My room was one of three upstairs. it shared a bathroom and direct access to the restaurant below, (be sure to have a cinnamon roll). It's kinda noisy in the morning when the restaurant opens up, added by the fact that you can actually see the restaurant below through the spaces in the floor boards. But it's no problem though and quiet time is established at 10:00 PM. The rest of Talkeetna is different though, unless you're going to take an air taxi to McKinley or a jet boat ride on the river they're isn't much to do. Downtown Talkeetna is made up of little craft stores,bars and restaurants. The most disturbing fact is that although tourism is the prime source of the town's income the locals are not very friendly. Two guys told me that they actually have a festival when tourist season ends. Although I hope to return to Alaska, it won't be to Talkeetna.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CLMDinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.4 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Property: Talkeetna Roadhouse
Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing