We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again...place was very cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I really like this place for a couple of reasons. It was fairly new looking/ well kept, rooms clean, bathroom spacious. Beds seemed more like a full vs. a queen. Lodge was beautiful, with a large fireplace in front and a couple more throughout the building. There were lots of nooks with chairs, leather couches, etc. throughout to relax and not be on top of each other. Was very comfortable. View was amazing. Couldn't see Mt. McKinley (who ever gets to???) but if it were a clear day you would definitely have a view. Grounds were nice, well kept walking path. The front area had a tour desk that had activities for the surrounding area and on the grounds. I would stay here again without question. Wasn't close to town but they ran a continuous shuttle. Great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rissad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

Dear Rissad38,

Thank you for your thoughtful review, we are happy you had a pleasant stay. We take great pride in the appearance and condition of our hotel so that our guests are able to enjoy their time here. We also do our best in providing access to the many things to do in Talkeetna. Thank you again for your review and for staying at the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
There are newer reviews for Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

978 - 984 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed in the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge for just one night after our cruise on the Inside Passage and at the beginning of our land tour. It is a gorgeous lodge with stunning views of the mountain ranges including an awesome view of Mt. McKinley when it is not shrouded in clouds! The front desk clerks are very friendly and don't mind helping you find the various mountains.
The lodge is absolutely beautiful with the huge fireplace and comfy chairs and sofas. It is very spacious and the grounds are gorgeous with a nice walking path surrounding it. The flowers are beautiful and well tended. The path will also lead you to the downtown area if you don't want to take the hotel shuttle. It's about 2 miles from the lodge to town. We chose the shuttle and enjoyed that ride while talking to some of the young people from all over the U.S who work at the lodge during the summer including the bartender from Key West, FL!!!
The room was very spacious and well appointed. We had a refrigerator and very nice desk in our room. There were laundry facilities on the 3rd floor behind the vending machines. This was a huge factor as we needed to wash some clothes since we had been gone for nearly 2 weeks.
We would definitely stay here again! By the way, the town is a hoot....based on the old TV show Northern Exposure....a true throwback to the 1960 and 70s days of hippies! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Dear Greenrooms,
We appreciate the time you took to review the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge and are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and in the town of Talkeetna. Come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I Loved this place. Beautiful new building of logs, huge 2 sided fireplace, back wall of windows picturing Mt. McKinley, outdoor patio. The rooms were large and very clean. The location was a few miles outside of Talkeetna but shuttles run every 15 minutes so that was never an issue. Great service, wireless internet and even cell phone service. When we checked out, they held our luggage while we went flight seeing, and until our bus arrived. Great customer service. The restaurant had great food, great service. There are inexpensive items on the menu. This by far was the best place around! Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Dear CheriM2,

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review. We are so happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay here and look forward to your return. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed 3 nights here and the location is absolutely beautiful, the site well maintained and the views are simply majestic. They have lots of comfortable areas for taking in the views as well, both inside and outside.

The service was very ordinary though as I got the impression the place was mostly staffed with summer/part-time workers without a true sense of what it means to provide top-notch service for a hotel. The basics were taken care of, but all the finer details were missing.

We started having gotten completely wrong directions to our room. There was no bell hop to help with the luggage (and who could have given us a second opinion on the room's location), and no one was volunteering to help us as we walked up and down the same hallway multiple times. They were helpful when we asked directly, which is the sort of finer details I was referring to. Note that much of the missing finer details were exposed in their restaurant service, which was again, not terrible, but also not exceptional.

I would still recommend staying here as none of the missing details were really all that annoying or inconvenient, but for the price I would have liked something a bit better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyC_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Dear TonyC_Austin,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. We appreciate your positive comments as well as your feedback on service. You are correct in that the majority of our staff is seasonal as we are only open May through September, however our effort is to hire employees that are committed to great customer service. We appreciate your review as it has provided us with a valuable training tool that we can use to make improvements in our guest services. Thank you for staying at the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Our room was comfortable, the grounds pretty, but OH the view out back! Huge stone fireplace in the main lobby, walls of windows in the lobby & lounge area by the laundry room. We sat in the overstuffed comfy chairs & just soaked up the view. We'd resigned ourselves to being among the majority that don't see McKinely, and then the clouds parted! It's within walking distance of town, but there is a handy shuttle from the hotel to town back (we walked downhill & caught the shuttle uphill! It had been a long day!)

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goinmobile68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Dear Goinmobile68,

We appreciate your wonderful review and are especially happy that you enjoyed your time in Talkeetna and at the Lodge. We hope to see you again soon, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed 1 night at the Talkeetna Lodge on our 2 week cruise/land tour of Alaska and found this was THE place we would return to someday! The lodge was absolutely perfect in appearance, quality, service and comfort! We ate lunch at the restaurant (expensive but tasty). The best part, though was the views of Mt. McKinley...I could have sat for hours (actually we did!) just looking and meditating! The location was convenient to the town of Talkeetna, where we explored and thoroughly enjoyed. Excellent place to stay! (hint: good food found in the town at the "Roadhouse"...inexpensive and very very good.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txstransplantnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Dear Txstransplant,

I'm so excited that Talkeetna was your favorite place on your Alaskan vacation, as it is ours as well! We look forward to your return, until then safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here while on a cruise tour in May 2010.

Firstly, I would like to start off by saying that the hotel is beautiful and has one of the most amazing views in the world. The atmosphere was just perfect with the fireplaces and wood furnishings in the lobby area. And we arrived in Talkeetna on a gorgeus day and had a magnificent view of Mt. Mckinley from the lookout porch of the hotel.

The room was alright, just missing the air conditioning. The fans did OK for us but we definitely preferred A/C. It was large and the beds were comfortable. The wireless internet was very slow though.

Location wise; Talkeetna is a very small town so the only possible place anyone would explore would be downtown. The hotel does provide a very convenient shuttle service for guests. It's nearly impossible to walk to downtown FYI.

We had dinner at the Base Camp Bistro and requested to seat outdoors to enjoy the sunset. The hostess was friendly but our server (Benjamin) seemed new as it took him some time to notice us and take our order. He also forgot our soup and when he delivered it, he had his fingers in it and the soup was all over the place (Refer to the picture). The rest of the food was good though but not great. It's probably because the season's just started and everyone's still getting their bearings.

Other than the restaurant that needs a little more improvement, AMAZING HOTEL!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

Dear Yanwan,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. It's wonderful that you were able to experience such a spectacular view during your stay. I appreciate your feedback on our restaurant as we are constantly looking at ways to improve and have since focused very much on the quality of service we provide. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.3 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
265 reviews
4.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Address: Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range: $207 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge above the small community of Talkeetna on the south side of Denali, our lodge offers unforgettable views of Denali and the Alaska Range, yet we are just minutes from adventures of a lifetime. Enjoy the view as you relax next to our 46-foot river rock fireplace or shop for Native art from villages across Alaska. Enjoy casual or fine dining featuring Alaska specialties and the best wine selection in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Alaskan Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing