We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful and relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
saint charles, il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here one night for a post cruise land tour. The resort is very rustic, beautifully decorated with beautiful surroundings and views. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, very clean! The lobby had a beautiful fireplace for relaxing. Would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    242
    77
    24
    13
See reviews for
251
369
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here during our Alaska cruisetour and really enjoyed it! Beautiful lodge with gorgeous views! One morning we could see Mt. McKinley from our window. It's a short distance from Talkeetna, but the shuttle leaves every 30 minutes! Hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your good review of us and are delighted that you caught sight of Mt. McKinley. We hope you do come back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A beautifully appointed lodge, great restaurant with a decent wine selection, pleasant lounge areas and spotless and well appointed rooms.
The exterior of the lodge has a pleasing Alaskan feel surrounded by well kept manicured gardens and the opportunity to walk bush trails. It is also an easy walk into and back from Talkeetna town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent review of the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here as part of a land tour package with our cruise line. One of the best hotels of the whole trip. Breathtaking views of the mountains, good food, well stocked bar and comfortable rooms. It's not too far from the main town and a shuttle could get you there in a few minutes. we were there during the summer so plenty of daylight to enjoy the views.

Kids had a great time rolling down the grassy hill just below the outdoor patio. The lobby fireplace is a nice place to sit and enjoy a relaxing time with friends and family or just people watching.

Room Tip: Mid and upper level rooms on the Denali side allow you to check for breaks in cluds and get photos w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jeff,

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your time at the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Talkeetna for two nights and I wish we stayed longer. This was my favorite hotel in Alaska. And such a cute town. Gorgeous views. Large rooms. Our room was Forrest View so we looked out onto the parking lot. I don't think the extra money is worth the Mountain View because the lobby and deck provide terrific views. Public areas were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The lobby with the stone fireplace was beautiful. My only regret - due to weather we couldn't see Mt. McKinley. Staff was friendly and efficient. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can't comment. Shuttles were available to/from town but we walked the mile or so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. We wish you would have stayed longer as well, but you can always come back anytime! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked a 1 night get away for the last day of the lodges summer season. I was pleasantly surprised by the staff, who on their last day of work after a very long summer season was still very attentive and professional. We had terrible rainy weather while there, however we were cozy sitting by the beautiful river rock fireplace in the main lobby. Decor is very nice. Will return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311, which was Denali mountain side. It was the last room on the building, so was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ownerCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you made before the end of the season! No matter what day of the year our goal is to make our guests feel welcomed and we are happy we accomplished that during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed the scenic surroundings as well as the elegant public areas and the restaurant. We were served very good food. Our big "but" was that the room was uncomfortably overheated. Must be a common complaint as the suggestion from the desk was to throw open the windows (not so good in the weather we were having) and open the room door to the corridor (really?). I'd suggest just turn down the heating. Several in our party felt the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHBfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
9.2 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Property: Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Address: Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge above the small community of Talkeetna on the south side of Mt. McKinley, our lodge offers unforgettable views of Mt. McKinley and the Alaska Range, yet we are just minutes from adventures of a lifetime. Enjoy the view as you relax next to our 46-foot river rock fireplace or shop for Native art from villages across Alaska. Enjoy casual or fine dining featuring Alaska specialties and the best wine selection in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Alaskan Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing