We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels in Talkeetna for the same price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for the Oosik Classic ski race. Not good at all. The walls are paper thin and the family next to us had a crying baby so we were up all night before the race, which was frustrating. The TV and the phone and the bedspread in the room were straight out of 1970. Kinda icky. The night before we stayed at the Meandering Moose B&B 1 mile away for the same price and it was very nice and clean and quiet -- stay there instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our group of 4 overnighted in talkeetna to take an early flightseeing trip.

This place was easy to find, quick check-in. We stayed at the two-story house in the back.

The rooms were clean, warm.. Bathrooms were nice (we came form Chena where everything was quite the opposite)

The owners and staff were very friendly. One of them even ran back home to get DVD's for our friends to watch.

Quick comment on location: This place is actually away from what you consider "downtown" of talkeetna - the shops, the roadhouse, etc. it's perfectly walkable in the summer. in the winter with the snow piles, a bit less so. This place is within spitting distance to the airstrip though. So for the photographers who want to get an early morning flightseeing for the fantastic light - it's perfect. Your other choice would be to drive up from anchorage for a few hours and flight see at noon - you don't get the colors or the angle of light to draw dramatic contrasts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HC_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our way back from Denali.
We even paid extra for a room with a jacuzzi, thinking we would want to be in one after our Denali hikes.

We checked all their reviews and knew that people highly recommended their restaurant.
Since it was raining, we decided to stick with it, and had dinner.
We ordered their schnitzels and they were delicious!
Highly recommend having them if you stay here!

However, kind of diappointed with the jacuzzi, or should I say with their hot water issues.
It takes a while to heat up the water in the tank, and the tank itself is shared with 2 rooms or more. So, if your neighbors take a shower ahead of you, you will probably have to wait for a good 45 minutes or so, if not an hour if you want to take a hot shower!

So I ended up not using the jacuzzi at all, and taking a damn cold shower...
Not to mention, they have internet access in the rooms and a TV set, but can't watch TV on it.
You will have to rent a video if they are open across the street, or watch TV in the restaurant.
We ended up going over there watching the football game.

But for 1 night, it is all good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We had an excellent room with no complaints whatsoever. Went fishing one morning and Vern (Owner) told us that if we caught a silver salmon to bring it back and he would cook it up for our supper. He did exactly that and all I can say is that it was absolutely wonderful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night-glacier flight next morning. Rooms cleaned and good size. Restaurant on site had good food. No TV but dvd rental place across street. Location convenient to Talkeetna and airplanes. Good place to sleep for the price.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank riccar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Swiss provides relatively affordable accommodation in the Talkeenta area. We were in the main building in the rooms behind the restaurant. It seemed as though the out buildings were newer and more desirable. That said, it was only one night as we were planning on a flight seeing trip the following morning. Food was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I like small and quirky, and I really wanted to like this place, but can't recommend it. The only positive is that it was relatively inexpensive, for Alaska.

My son asked "How could they make it look good in the brochure?" The website shows the separate cabins/annex. Our room was in the main lodge, the same building as the restaurant. When we checked in at the small cluttered office, I asked for one of the other buildings, I was told, "You'll like your room!" (like it was a command) "And you won't find another available room in town tonight" (like she knew we'd want to try?) The lodge rooms are in a narrow hallway behind the restaurant. The doors and walls are thin. The beds were lumpy and squeaky. Really need to be replaced. Others have mentioned the biblical passages on plaques above each door, which seemed weird. The whole place really could use some updating and a good cleaning. I went to charge my phone and found the electrical outlet had no cover, with exposed wiring. The grocery store hand-soap in the bathroom had been so diluted it just spurted out like water. I think it WAS water. Tacky.

We spent our time in town, but returned in the evening for dessert, to watch the Olympics on the only TV, which is in the bar/restaurant. We ordered apple crisp, which was soggy. The family who runs this little place seems to have stopped trying. Behind the building is a cute little garden, but from the same spot is a view of a huge junk pile.

Talkeetna is worth visiting, but there's really no reason to stay in town (this is still a 10 minute walk). There seemed to be better options on the road heading into Talkeetna. When I've overheard my kids telling others about all the great memories of their Alaska vacation, they refer to Swiss Alaska Inn as "the creepy place."

Room Tip: Separate "cabins" look much better than main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss8, Manager at Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Dee818,
I regret and wish that you had brought the inconveniences to our attention so that I could have made your stay more enjoyable.
We are known for our delicious food, our friendly staff and clean rooms, which is why it saddens me that you did not enjoy your stay. Talkeetna is a very busy place in the summer with a limited number of rooms. We take pride in that our rooms fill up quickly and a large percentage of our guests are repeat customers. We are so thankful for our guests and continue to upgrade our business to improve their stays. Shortly before your stay, every bed had been replaced to add to our guests comfort and we are constantly upgrading our rooms and restaurant. This is why we are so surprised at your comments, which seem as if your are talking about another business. I hope that you stay with us again and get a chance to get a chance to see how beautiful Talkeetna can be. Lunch is on me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
10.4 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
0.3 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna

Address: P.O. Box 565, 22056 S. F Street, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0565
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range: $117 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna Hotel Talkeetna
Swiss Alaska Hotel Talkeetna
Swiss Alaska Talkeetna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing