We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caribou Lodge Alaska
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Cabins(Talkeetna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Motel(Talkeetna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
62
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloat planeblueberrieshighly recommend a visitcooked mealshighlight of our tripdining tablethree nightsexcellent hoststhe main lodgejoewildlifebearbatteriesalaskaaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 64 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2005

Caribou Lodge was a fantastic experience for our family of four. It is not luxurious; but it is certainly not roughing it either. And it is very comfortable. Mike and Pam are fantastic hosts (and that's exactly what they are, your hosts). You eat dinner at their dining table, pass the time in their living room and talk to them as they work in the kitchen (and pitch in if the spirit moves you).

We were looking for a true Alaskan experience. We had had a week on a cruise ship and found the lodge in both a guide book and on the internet. We flew in from Anchorage (which is longer than the short hop from Talkeetna).

We stayed for four days and the weather was excellent for two of them (which is good for Alaska). The view of Denali from the ridge above the lodge (a 45 second walk) is absolutely spectacular. If you have good weather quickly (do not hesitate) have Mike or Pam set up a flighseeing trip around Denali. It is an unbelievable experience--like being in a National Geographic special and relatively (for that sort of thing) inexpensive.

The food is great. Home cooked meals. Not exactly what the cardiologist ordered, but it is only a few days and a great excuse to eat hearty food.

There are just three cabins (and a loft), so the capacity is limited to 6 or 8 guests.

We had real adventures while we were there. And Mike and Pam are the best. I am a city slicker, not particularly favorably disposed to guns, but they need them and use them in the bush. And with the right people and the right environment it all felt right.

Us city people need to get a bit of courage up. No indoor plumbing, but the outhouses are clean and nicely decorated. (Mike says the fact of outhouses keeps the wrong people away). No electricity in the cabins, but there are gas lights and gas heaters (the propane, like everything else, is flown in).

This was a unique experience, and I suspect we will be back. I am not sure what more we could have asked for.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arl_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Our thanks to the "City Slickers" for coming, our pleasure to have you! We enjoy sharing a bit of our country and wildlife with folks who have an appreciation of it, it is most times as enjoyable for us as for you. Thanks for coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
12
Reviewed October 27, 2004

Caribou Lodge is a short plane hop and light years away from the tourist environs of Talkeetna, just above the timber line on Boomerang Lake (ask the pilot to show you on the map). The cabins, lodge, bath house and outhouses (no indoor plumbing here) are scrupulously clean and the hospitality generous. A 2-minute climb up the hill behind the lodge gives you a ringside view of Denali. Pam makes you family as soon as you step on the dock, and Mike is a superb hiking guide. You'll see whatever wildlife decides to come by (this isn't a zoo, after all), and experience the lay of the land up close and personal (blueberries in August are superb!). If you want to go where your legs can carry you and unwind in the stillness of the Alaskan bush, do try out Caribou Lodge. If you want Alaska to parade by you, stick to the tourist buses and watch CNN.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Pretty well said I think. We appreciate your coming and hope we to see you back someday! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

We love the Caribou Lodge. We first went there when we lived in Key West, Fl. and have since moved to Ak. Yes, they do have outhouses.....But it is a fly-in lodge out in the wilderness....it is not a zoo....Sometimes you see lots, and sometimes not so much. I have seen a wolverine...for several minutes at a time...., numerous birds, moose,wolf tracks, and yes, they have sled dogs which is the most incredible way to see the country in the winter. We go up now to get away "from the big city" and to look at the northern lights and the stars.....And, of course, Denali....Not to mention the company and the food. Pam bakes all of her own bread, and the food is bountiful and great. This is a wilderness lodge, not a spa resort....I wish I were there right now.

  • Stayed: February 2003
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank laughinghusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We wish you were here too! It was our pleasure the first time... and some "guests" turn in to friends, who turn into like family. You are always welcome here! See you next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2004

Much of what has been said is true... the lodge is accessible only by floatplane... the flightseeing of Denali on the way in is spectacular... Pam and Mike are great hosts... it does give you a taste of what it is like to live in the bush... the cabins are comfy. However, the "outhouse" facilities, while clean and cutely decorated, are a great inconvenience... especially in the middle of the night. This would not have been an issue if there had been the "abundance of wildlife" that we expected. During our three nights/days, I saw eight sled dogs, and three ducks. My husband went on the lengthy hikes and saw one black bear (from a mile away, using binoculars) and two moose (also quite distant and using binoculars) and a porcupine and some marmites. Later (also through binoculars) we saw a couple beavers swim into their lodge.) If remoteness and solitude are your goal, then this could be the place for you. But if abundant widlife and interesting hikes are your objective, then you might be disappointed and would be better served in Kenai.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Very sorry you did not enjoy your time here. But as you have noted, our lodge is not for everyone. If you have no appreciation for nature and wild country, your not going to like it here. If staying in your room/cabin is your desire, you might be better served in a Hotel chain in the city. As far as wildlife, while normally good, it is not a zoo, it is wild country and wildlife can come and go. We can not control it. We wish you better travels in you future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
219
Reviewed August 28, 2003

We spent two days and nights at the Caribou Lodge this summer. It was a great opportunity to share the Alaskan wilderness with Pam and Mike, who own the Lodge. Accessible only by floatplane, the Caribou Lodge gave us a chance to hike, canoe, see wildlife, relax, eat great food, and get to know the interior of Alaska and the people that live and work there. During our stay, Denali came out, and we arranged for our pilot to take us on a flight-seeing tour of the Mountain. It was an awesome experience (and incredibly cheap when compared to other flight services). A must-do for those wanting to get away!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Our pleasure to have you here and thanks you for your post! Hope to have you back again....Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews