We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caribou Lodge Alaska
Nearby Hotels
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinook Wind Cabins(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Roadhouse(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Cabins(Talkeetna)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
62
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloat planeblueberrieshighly recommend a visitcooked mealshighlight of our tripdining tablethree nightsexcellent hoststhe main lodgejoewildlifebearbatteriesalaskaaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 64 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Staying with Mike & Pam was a great experience and certainly one of the most rewarding things we've done in our lives so far. In our four day visit we managed to completely forget about our busy lives and enjoy the beautiful Alaskan wilderness. Mike & Pam are perfect hosts, immediately making you feel like you're old friends, without imposing and respecting your privacy. Although the Caribou Lodge is pretty far from 'civilization', that doesn't mean it's primitive or without comfort. They manage to serve delicious meals, have clean and comfortable cabins and a cozy living room. It's impressive to see what they've built for themselves and how they manage to survive comfortably in the wilderness. Their entertaining stories and the hikes around the Lodge make the trip complete. It's a truly unique place where we'd love to come every year, if it weren't a two day trip with planes and cars from home...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Manager at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Wow! Are you sure this is our place? Just kidding! It was our pleasure to have you here and our pleasure to share a bit of our life style with you. It makes it easy with folks who have an understanding of what it takes to live out here, and appreciate it. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was our third visit to Caribou Lodge and each time it just gets better! This time we took my son and his fiancé with us. Our visit was once again fantastic. The proprietors, Pam and Mike Nichols, are great hosts with Pam being the chef and cooking fantastic meals and Mike being the guide and story teller. It is a fantastic place just chill out and enjoy the tundra and beauty of Alaska, especially seeing the sun rise over Mt. Denali. Our 4 day visit was fantastic and the weather was, for the most part, beautiful with the Fall colors in full display. My son and his fiancé went on an over night trek with Mike while my wife and I stayed back and did some day trekking by ourselves. The hospitality was overwhelmingly great. It is just a great place to stay and visit and feel at home.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Our lodge/home is yours, you are welcome here anytime...but we think you know that. The backpack trek was a pleasure, I enjoyed it as always, fine family. Pam will always have some biscuits and gravy for you! See you next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Our first time to Alaska and we're most fortunate to have a tour operator that highly recommended Caribou Lodge.
So there we were,two Dutchies from far and away ,but we felt home right from the moment we met our two great hosts Mike and Pam.
It's hard to even describe the experience you find in Caribou Lodge;it must be this great mixture of true hospitality ,the wonderful surroundings,(wildlife abound and around,)great food ,the luxury of being disconnected from the rest of the world and meeting other people..
But the special treat are those breakfasts ,lunches and dinners where Mike and Pam bring you back to what really matters.Good fun ,great stories about Ed the mountain man,(no worries you probably are not going to meet him,)are mixed with some lessons in life.Live simply and don't mix needs and desires.
It is now more than 4 weeks and it's still coming back to us.
When we returmed to Talkeetna (great flight with a floatplane),we knew it .Caribou Lodge was the highlight of our holiday.And back home here in the Netherlands ,we think we understand it ,Caribou Lodge is no need but you desire to go back,once you've been there!
And before I forget great sleddogs,great pictures ,in our staircase,proof of evidence of a great 2.5 days in Talkeetna,thank you Mike and Pam

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bolhoofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Our thanks to you! Our pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again someday. It is a bit rare to have folks understand as much about living in the Alaskan Bush and the two of you did. It's a good thing to know...even if you never need it.... Thank you1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

My family went here this summer and had an amazing time. You get to experience solitude and isolation in nature something hard to find in todays world. The lodge was my favorite spot I have ever visited. Be sure to go on a hike with Mike as you head off without a trail into the Alaskan wilderness. It is truly an amazing experience. We saw abundant wildlife (although no caribou) and great views of Mount McKinley. Also, the food was amazing! I was shocked as all the food has to be flown in and Pam does it all in the kitchen of their house. Not only is the food great but there is plenty of it, keeping you well fed for your long hikes. I agree with the one other post it is not for everyone, but if you want solitude, a chance to experience pristine Alaskan wilderness, and a unique perspective on life the lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank formenwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Our pleasure to have you! And after 20 + years in the Alaskan Wilderness I think we have things pretty well figured out, but I guess it still amazes us at times as well. You never know what nature is going to throw your way. Hope to see you again someday....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This was our second trip to Mike and Pam's Caribou Lodge--we initially went 3 years ago when our kids were ten. We have absolutely loved both of our trips. It's hard to put into words exactly why--there's just something that deeply nourishes our souls in this place with these people. It's a beautiful setting--the hiking, the scenery, the wildlife, the views of Denali, etc. But even more than that, it's the warmth and care of Mike and Pam, their commitment to the land, to sharing their world and values with others, and their good-humored, gentle way with one another and with their guests that makes our time at Caribou Lodge so renewing, so rewarding.

Our stay this time included 3 other couples/families--all of whom became fast friends despite being from different countries, different backgrounds and different regions of the US. Around the dinner table, one of the guests suggested we share our "top ten" list about the Lodge. One of the children said "Caribou Lodge is the best place to spend your time between past and future." That is so true. A place to be in the now. To delight in a game of horseshoes or badminton. To unabashedly reach for another one of Pam's homemade rolls. To trudge through the bush to pick blueberries. To giggle at Mike's stories.

It may not be for everyone--animal sightings are not guaranteed, the outhouses smell like outhouses, and there isn't a TV or way to recharge the Gameboy. But for our family, Caribou Lodge is paradise--
and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cftyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

They say better late than never, again, sorry for being so slow to respond. As you have noted, electronics in the Alaskan Wilderness are slow at best. And our limited knowledge is not a big help. But...thank you for your kind words! We were pretty happy that the "kids" would consider us their favorite spot. Thanks for coming back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews