We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Air Service”

Sheldon Air Service
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sheldon Air Service is a family owned and operated business located at the Talkeetna State Airport. We have over 30 years experience flying from Talkeetna to the glaciers of the Alaska Range. We offer personalized flightseeing trips with glacier landings, transportation for mountain climbers and adventurers and charter service 12 months a year.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Air Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Holly and David run an absolutely fabulous air service. In 2007, our climbing team flew with a local competitor and our experience with them was less than satisfactory. They were all business and we felt we were treated like a number. More disappointingly, we were on their schedule and we had to wait over four hours in perfectly good weather before they would fly us on to the glacier. The net effect is that it needlessly delayed our expedition by a whole day. Our experience in 2012 with Holly and David was completely opposite. They were extremely friendly and treated us more like family than customers. They bent over backwards to get us on the glacier at the earliest moment and did everything they could to ensure our success. On our flight off the glacier we called them from our satellite phone at the base of "heartbreak hill" and they immediately flew out to the glacier and were waiting for us when we got there. David is also an expert pilot with an incredible amount of flying experience. We felt completely safe with him at all time and enjoyed him pointing out to us various features in the Alaska range and telling us about the local culture. I wholeheartedly recommend flying with Sheldon Air Service. Holly and David are first class.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved our Sheldon Air experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Sheldon Air was a great choice for our trip to the Alaska Range! Their service was excellent, they gave us a great price, and were receptive to our needs and had flexible departure times. We spent at week on the Pika Glacier, and getting climbers in and out of the mountains are a big priority for them so we knew we were in good hands. We flew in and out with two different pilots, and both gave us a nice smooth and safe ride and were very knowledgeable about the region. Enthusiasm in the office just fueled our excitement for the trip! They also have a lot of good options available, for example we were able to rent a satellite phone right from their office. They gave us space to organize, store, pack, etc, helped us to organize our trip locally in Talkeetna, and were very responsive to all our questions over email and phone beforehand. Our next trip out we will definitely fly with them again. Who better to fly with than the family who invented the glacier landing?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We loved the flightseeing trip with David from Sheldon Air Service in Talkeetna. It was definitely one of the best things we have ever done on vacation! We bought a Groupon and then opted to add on a glacier stop. Paula at Sheldon was very efficient in taking the reservation several months ago and calling a couple days before our July 2 flight. Paula, Holly, and David were all very nice and helpful. David did a great job of explaining all about the area, including telling us about the glaciers, Mt. McKinley, etc. We landed on the glacier and spent about 20 minutes. Fascinating! I definitely would recommend adding on the glacier landing. The scenery in the air was beautiful, but to actually stand on a glacier was unbelievable! I have already gotten so many comments on my facebook page of the glacier pics. We definitely would recommend Sheldon to anybody. I wouldn't even consider going with a different company!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NotesForYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flight to Mt. McKinley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to Alaska and took their flight to pick up a climber on Mr. McKinley. The flight was extremely smooth, we landed on the glacier at base camp and loaded up the climber. We then flew back to Talkeetna. It was a really smooth flight and absolute beautiful scenery. A must do! Thanks Jock for the great flight, Rob and Marcia

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ_382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

These are the best people in the world!! Pilots are the best, service is the best, everything blew me away!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank stefan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheldon Air Service also viewed

 

Been to Sheldon Air Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing