We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View. Nice accomodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Overlook Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View. Nice accomodations.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent on of our 7 nights at the Inn (we moved around daily). The innkeepers were friendly and accommodating. The room was nice, clean, and roomy. Breakfast was yummy. The view was incredible. Was close enough to town for sightseeing activities or to grab a bite for lunch or dinner. Would definitely recommend if looking for quiet, peaceful accommodations in the Talkeetna area.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Denali range. It is nice laying in bed looking at the mountain ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent several days exploring Alaska prior to a cruise. Stayed at the Overlook Inn one night and wished we had more time there. Mabel and Ron are great hosts - place is very clean and the food is good. Plenty of room in one of the rooms for our family of five, which isn't always easy to find. Best part about the place is the view - the Inn sits high on a ridge overlooking the valley - you really get a good view of the vast wilderness of Alaska. Just beautiful! We would definitely return here if we make another trip to Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

After a week cruise and a week of land explorering ahead of us, we made a stop in Talkeetna and was so happy we booked at the Overlook. One word..... the VIEW and we got to see Mt. McKinley.The property is gorgeous and welcoming. Enjoyed a delicious homemade breakfast. Thank you Mabel and Ron

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySOFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Denali Overlook Inn was voted by our extended family of 5 (ages 18 to 76) as the best lodging of our land trip. Everyone enjoyed the comfortable beds, awesome bath linens, spectacular views, full cooked breakfasts, and relaxing common living room area. The helpful innkeepers/owners made sure we had everything needed. We were here during a very warm and sunny few days which made for unparalleled views of the mountains, but warm sleeping rooms (we were on the top floor). Fortunately they provide window and ceiling fans to keep you cool, but then the quiet peaceful atmosphere suffers a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Four girls stayed at Denali Overlook Inn B&B in Talkeetna during our recent Alaska trip(July, 2013). This place is just beautiful with million dollar view. You can see the snow-covered mountains above the forest if it’s not cloudy. The first thing the host Mabel and Ron would ask you is to order your breakfast next day after checking in. The menu is long. It’s the best breakfast I had in my trip. I would definitely stay in this place whenever I get chance to be in Talkeetna again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, va
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

this place is just gorgeous and we LOVED the view of denali from our room (the mt. foraker suite). also... I think it might be at a high enough elevation that it's quite possibly above the mosquito line... there were certainly less there than elsewhere. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdc2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in order to go "flight-seeing" before our Alaskan cruise. It's a beautiful spot with incredible views. The best part though (aside form the comfy rooms and tasty breakfast) was sitting in the living room/dining room and talking to other guests. Unfortunately, we were here during the heat wave and the early evening was hot. Fortunately, the temperature dropped into the 50s for the evening so we were able to have a comfortable night's sleep. Ron and Mabel are great hosts. The only suggestion I can offer is that it would be nice to have a small refrigerator on one of the upper floors for our beers and other refrigerated items. It would help middle-aged knees on the two flights of stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayesimonetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
902 reviews
5.0 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
5.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
256 reviews
7.4 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness
Talkeetna Wilderness
#3 of 18 in Talkeetna
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Property: Denali Overlook Inn
Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Overlook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Denali Overlook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing