We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Denali Overlook Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Motel(Talkeetna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Talkeetna Cabins(Talkeetna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
250
25
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
25
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdumb waitergreat roomgreat hostsb bflights of stairsfront lawnoverlooking the mountainsone nightalaska rangetop flooramazing viewsfew minutes drivefire pittalkeetna areaother guestsunobstructed viewwonderful breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 280 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ron and Mable are the perfect hosts. Our room was spacious with a wonderful shower. Breakfast was not only delicious but cooked to order. You may not have the wonderful weather we experienced but you can have coffee with Denali every morning even when you can not see her. We were skeptical staying so far from Talkeetna, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First off, do yourself a favor and plan more than one night to stay here! We were fortunate enough to stay here for the last 4 nights of our Alasakan vacation! Ron and Mabel are a biig part of making the stay a great time! All the positives stated in earlier reviews have been confirmed as accurate! The day we checked in, no other guests had arrived and we were able to look at all of the rooms that the lodge offers. They are all beautiful, no doubt and you will love whichever one you choose, but at the last minute when finalizing our reservation with Mabel, we elected to take the Northern Exposure Cabin. Great decision! You get all the benefits of Mable and Ron's FANTASTIC breakfasts and the lodge living room, but you get privacy that the other rooms can't offer! The views from both the downstairs rooms, the deck, and the loft bedroom are incredible!! We made great use of the deck for our morning coffee and devtional time as well as just relaxing, enjoying the beauty of God's creation! We felt we had the best accommodations offered in Talkeetna! What a fun time!! Ron and Mabel have good suggestions for things to do. We suggest the K2 flightseeing tour with the glacier landing along with the Sun Dog Kennel tour. Don't hesitate, call Mabel now to schedule your 2 nights plus!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank hoosierguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

So glad you liked the Northern Exposure Cabin!! It does have great views and gives you a little more privacy. Thank you for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Came here with my wife for our three year anniversary. A little skeptical when it comes to B&Bs and would normally prefer a hotel, but this place made for such an awesome experience. We stayed in the Denali Suite and couldn't have asked for a better view or space to enjoy it in. The pictures on the website really don't come close to what you actually get, so great!

From what we could tell the other rooms were smaller but just as nice with unobstructed views of the valley or Denali. The food was wonderful and we even got to share some great conversations with another visiting couple and our hosts, but even though there were people staying in the same inn we definitely felt like we had our own space and privacy.

Talkeetna is probably one of our favorite towns and has one of my favorite breweries "Twister Creek" and is just minutes down the road. Great beer, friendly staff, and always climbers, pilots, and outdoor enthusiasts swapping stories around the bar.

We loved this place so much we booked the Cabin for a night when our friends come in to town in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Denali Suite is where its at...the tub is nice for two ;) Rocking chairs and bed facing Mt.Mckinley kept us entertained all day.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

Glad you enjoyed Denali View Suite for your 3rd Anniversary!! Maybe next year you will spend your 4th here!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Denali Overlook Inn for our wedding anniversary. We are locals, from Anchorage, and we had a opportunity to fly into Talkeetna in a small plane, after doing a sight-seeing tour of Denali. The inn is off the beaten path and is several miles away from the Main st attractions and dining. Walking was out of question, and somehow we missed the fact that taxi wasn't in service at that hour. So we called the inn and the husband came to pick us up! I don't think it is a service they offer, but were definitely blessed. The inn stands on a bluff overlooking the Denali range ( as the name suggests). And the view is simply breathtaking! They have several rooms and one suite with THE view. We went for the cheapest room, since it was only overnight stay. Ad the room was immaculate! Crisp sheets, spotless towels, every little detail is thought through. Since our goal was to get away from our kids, all we did, just hung out at the grand lounge, which is simply awesome! Lots of books, magazines, games and again -the view! there is also a deck wrapping around the house and a nice lush lawn, both featuring the mountains in the background. Since it is a B&B, we got to choose our breakfast (which boasted a variety of options, sweet, savory and grab-and-go). The breakfast is served at a table seating at least 12. The managers are really laid back and sweet people. The husband also gave us the ride back to town to catch our plane. If I had another chance, I would stay there in heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Estalilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your Anniversary here. We hope you will come stay with us again in the future, and maybe even bring the kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hello, I will not rate the hotel as I did not stay there. However, due to an error on my part, I had to cancel the reservation. It is six weeks ahead of our arrival. I was charged a 10% "processing fee" which seems unreasonable since they will surely rent the room again. When I mentioned the information regarding cancellations on their website, she reiterated it...a caution: read the reservation cancellation VERY carefully. Anyone who cancels ... no matter if a year in advance... will pay the 10% processing fee.

I note that I have to rate the hotel in order to submit this comment. Therefore, please know that I did NOT stay there nor have I seen it so do not make you decision based on a room review.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews