We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Overlook Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Denali Overlook Inn for our wedding anniversary. We are locals, from Anchorage, and we had a opportunity to fly into Talkeetna in a small plane, after doing a sight-seeing tour of Denali. The inn is off the beaten path and is several miles away from the Main st attractions and dining. Walking was out of question, and somehow we missed the fact that taxi wasn't in service at that hour. So we called the inn and the husband came to pick us up! I don't think it is a service they offer, but were definitely blessed. The inn stands on a bluff overlooking the Denali range ( as the name suggests). And the view is simply breathtaking! They have several rooms and one suite with THE view. We went for the cheapest room, since it was only overnight stay. Ad the room was immaculate! Crisp sheets, spotless towels, every little detail is thought through. Since our goal was to get away from our kids, all we did, just hung out at the grand lounge, which is simply awesome! Lots of books, magazines, games and again -the view! there is also a deck wrapping around the house and a nice lush lawn, both featuring the mountains in the background. Since it is a B&B, we got to choose our breakfast (which boasted a variety of options, sweet, savory and grab-and-go). The breakfast is served at a table seating at least 12. The managers are really laid back and sweet people. The husband also gave us the ride back to town to catch our plane. If I had another chance, I would stay there in heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Estalilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your Anniversary here. We hope you will come stay with us again in the future, and maybe even bring the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
107
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hello, I will not rate the hotel as I did not stay there. However, due to an error on my part, I had to cancel the reservation. It is six weeks ahead of our arrival. I was charged a 10% "processing fee" which seems unreasonable since they will surely rent the room again. When I mentioned the information regarding cancellations on their website, she reiterated it...a caution: read the reservation cancellation VERY carefully. Anyone who cancels ... no matter if a year in advance... will pay the 10% processing fee.

I note that I have to rate the hotel in order to submit this comment. Therefore, please know that I did NOT stay there nor have I seen it so do not make you decision based on a room review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed one night in "Mt Foraker" Suite which was perfect for 2 friends. Beautiful view of Denali and very comfortable beds. The Inn is approx a 10 minute drive into "downtown" Talkeetna. All areas are of the Inn are immaculately clean.
The general living room area is very cozy and supplied with binoculars and telescope. The view of Mts Foraker, Hunter and Denali are second to none. Ron and Mable are fantastic hosts and whipped up a delicious breakfast for us before we left.
I thoroughly enjoyed the collection of "Male Order Bachelor" magazines. This is a yearly fundraiser every December and the bachelors advertising themselves seem to be pretty content as bachelors! Very funny.
I highly recommend the Denali Overlook Inn and will return in December for the fundraiser, if not sooner! Thanks Ron and Mable - we'll stay longer next time, Christine

Room Tip: I think Mt Foraker and Mt Denali are the best rooms, but ask Mable - she'll give you a good reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali_Overlook_Inn, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Having 3 rooms that can accommodate 5 people give families or friends a chance to stay and enjoy being together. We loved sitting around and talking with you a breakfast. We learn so much more about our guest by doing this. Hope we can see you again soon or by December, maybe get a chance to see what all goes on at the fundraiser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at several places in Talkeetna, and must commend Ron and Mabel for having the best place around. Ron and Mabel were awesome hosts and the inn has great views! The B & B was clean and welcoming. Ron and Mabel really go out of their way to make everyone's stay enjoyable. My coworker and I mentioned snow shoeing, and Ron quickly offered to loan us shoes. He even gave us a quick tutorial on how to strap them on; being from Alabama we don't really use snow shoes very often. We mentioned that we would like to see the northern lights during our stay, and Mabel was quick to pull up the website to find out the chances. Ron offered to knock on our doors if he was up and saw them. One night during our stay they were actually out, if only very faintly and white. Ron stayed up with us and another couple who were there and pointed them out and helped us recognize them.

We are looking forward to our next trip with other coworkers to show off our great find!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali_Overlook_Inn, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be able to return with some more of your co-workers. Sorry the Northern Lights didn't come out very good, but maybe next time. Ron and I strive to please our customers, and having what you needed so you could go snow shoeing was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved our short stay at Denali Overlook and can't wait to return! Our suite had enormous panoramic windows looking over a forest all the way to Denali, Hunter and Foraker. We watched the mountains until the beautiful sunset ended and the sky grew dark. The comfortable rocking chairs were perfect. Ron and Mabel were superb hosts giving us a tour of the house (we were the only guests) and showing us where all the amenities were located. The King bed was cozy and the room even contained plenty of Alaska reading material including a book on small plan travel - very apt as we planned a flight-seeing tour of Denali the following morning. Breakfast, pre-ordered the night before, was immediately available when we entered the dining area. The food was delicious and conversation interesting and friendly. This is one of the best B&Bs where we've stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the panoramic windows for an awesome mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali_Overlook_Inn, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I was so glad that the Alaskan Range was out for you to enjoy from your room. With those 16 ft windows, you can see quite a distance. A great room to view the Northern Lights when they're out. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing view and amazing staff .....amazing ...the breakfast is always just what you order. No wonder you have to reserve fast.....once the word really travels they will probly be booked all summer and winter

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali_Overlook_Inn, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your second review! We are so thankful for the times you have stayed here with us. We enjoyed your family so much. We hope you'll be back again soon, and yes, the Denali View Suite is the best room for a family with 4 kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only thing wrong with this place was that it is in Alaska and far away from me to visit more often! The staff was courteous and warm. The place looked tidy and clean and inviting. The "little touches" were heart warming and comforting. They had an extensive full breakfast list and for the off season were wonderfully priced! We had a view overlooking the entire mountain rage. Though it was only my husband and myself, we could have easily brought our two children, stayed in the same room and had as much fun and been as comfortable. Thank you Mabel and Ron!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali_Overlook_Inn, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We try our best to make our B & B an inviting and comfortable experience for all our guests. Thanks so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
5.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
5.3 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Property: Denali Overlook Inn
Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Overlook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Denali Overlook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing