We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Overlook Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The views from the rooms are incredible. Ron and Mable are perfect hosts and cook wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer. Absolutely, no complaints. Very clean, neat, beds are comfortable. You have to reserve the Second Floor Room, Queen, twin (loft) and futon. Separate sitting areas, very roomy. Wall to wall windows.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thanks for your positive review!! We hope you'll be able to come again with your family and stay for a couple of nights. Really hope you enjoyed yourselves!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 279 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is the place to stay if you are looking to get away and still be close enough to stay in touch. The people running the place Ron and mabel are just the best. They greet you at the front door with a smile and make you feel like you are staying at a 5 star hotel chain. You always feel like you are part of the family. The room accommodation are very clean and warm. The breakfast in the morning is always fresh and delicious. The view from every room is amazing. This is the second time my family and I stayed here and we have already booked for this summer. We cant wait to return and only one hour and thirty minutes from anchorage, AK it makes it easy to get there.

Room Tip: The Denali Room is the best......And the most room for your money .....not that any of the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again in March. We're so glad that you have enjoyed your 2 previous stays with us. The views are great even when the mountains aren't out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just returned from an overnighter. The weather was cold and clear.....the view was beyond words. The room was perfect (Mt Foraker suite) The great room is beautiful with amazing wood beams. The bre akfast was wonderful...a large variety to choose from. Ron and Mabel were so very kind and made us feel right at home. We will be back. It was a perfect get-away from Wasilla!!

Room Tip: Mt Foraker Suite was beautiful, but we got to peek at the Denali View Suite...it was breathtaking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

It was great having you stay with us. We hope you will be able to stay again in the future, then maybe you can stay in the Suite that you peeked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night, out of Anchorage, and we enjoyed it very much. The hosts were very gracious and helpful, cooked us a yummy hearty breakfast, and the views are spectacular. We stayed in one of the upstairs suites, which was beautifully done, clean, and very comfortable. It is a gorgeous space, and very welcoming as well. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenS519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed yourselves, and we appreciate the positive review. We hope when you want to get away and come to Talkeetna, you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Two friends and I stayed for one night en route back to Anchorage from Fairbanks & Chena Hot Springs. Ron and Mabel are lovely, warm and kind hosts who cook a divine breakfast and have the understated skill and capability that is an Alaskan trademark. Their lovely inn is built in the post and beam style, and is decorated in a comfortable yet classy way. One friend was from London and travels all over the world as a courier and consultant. She could not get over the beauty and comfort of this place. We would highly recommend Denali Overlook, and look forward to staying with Ron and Mabel anytime Talkeetna is in our travel plans.

Room Tip: The view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali_Overlook_Inn, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks so much for your quick review and for letting us know that you had a good time. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future, whenever you're in Talkeetna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Denali Overlook Inn. It was nothing short of spectacular. The property is beautiful and impeccably maintained, with furnishings and decor that make it a cozy home away from home. The hosts Ron and Mabel are some of the best we've encountered anywhere...friendly, welcoming, and they know how to serve a delicious breakfast with style! We were honored to have them join us for breakfast conversation, where they shared local lore and offered great tips on where to go exploring. The view from the property is stunning, including the trumpeter swans that frequently appear. Highly recommended....one of the highlights of our trip to Alaska. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The best is the Denali View Suite, which has a separate loft/bedroom. The next best is the Mt. Forak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimAndDanFromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again. Thanks for the positive review it is greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We wish we had stayed longer. The hosts were wonderful and the breakfast spectacular. Anything you want. We met great guests and the view is the best in all of Alaska. The only day we were on land on our trip that it didn't rain we were here. They say only 30% of the people that visit Alaska see Mt. McKinley. While we were at breakfast the clouds parted and there was the spectaular sight of the whole Alaska Range. The views through the huge windows were breathtaking. We could have stayed there all day just looking. We will come back here the next time we are in Alaska and stay longer. Your host was a Forest Service employee so he is very knowledgable.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the mountins. There is not a bad room at this B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassySueaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We're so glad that the Alaska Range showed up for you while you were here. It is totally awesome every time it is visible! Thanks for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
5.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
5 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
5.7 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: $186 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Overlook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Denali Overlook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing