We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour with Dennis”

Alaska Wilderness Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On your ATV you will visit the historic remote 1959 Devore family homestead with Dennis Devore, an original family member. Learn how these hardy pioneers survived the harsh conditions of Alaskan homesteading. You can drive your own ATV or ride a comfortable ATV-drawn covered wagon as the homestead is accessible only by trail. Guests may try gold panning on the homestead quarter at Wiggle Creek. Lunch is included. Photo opportunities of Mt. McKinley.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour with Dennis”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Dennis. This is great way to see the Talkeetna area. We decided to do our tour of his Homestead on ATVs and it was great fun for my husband, our two teenagers and me. Dennis took us thru Talkeetna before we went out to his Homestead. He showed us the home that he helped to build as a teenager and his current home which is in the most beautiful setting. He has many stories to tell which are very engaging. His German Shepard is a great companion and won our kids hearts. We all had a great time, great for all ages.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DRWLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homestead tour”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely fabulous! What a unique way to see Alaska - very different than most tours.
Our tour guide, Dennis, is an Alaskan pioneer who homesteaded in the Talkeetna area in 1959. His stories were fascinating and we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon at his cabin on the homestead.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
239 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Talkneeta”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The owners family has been in the area since 1960's. Make arrangements to go to the cabin in the woods. It is a great adventure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank allenriverford28036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real Alaska with a Homesteader!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a fantastic tour to take while staying in Talkeetna. Dennis teaches you about Tallkeetna and tells his own personal family story of moving to Talkeetna as a homesteader. You have the opportunity to see wildlife while you travel off the roads and into the real Alaska wilderness! I highly reccomend this trip over Mayhays riverboat tours and I would do this trip again with my family or friends!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4life316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See the real Alaska wilderness”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you ever end up in Talkeetna, take this tour! It takes you through the bush, past an original family homestead, a relative of the tour guide, and into the real Alaska bush. Highly reccomend this for people who do not really like the "Tourist Traps" and such.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Wilderness Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Wilderness Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing