We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and perfect service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milano Marittima, Italy
1 review
“excellent location and perfect service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was definitely an excellent place to stay in Talkeetna. The best place where we slept during our 16 days trip in Alaska. Paula Strong is very friendly and helpful, a perfect landlady! The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the price fair. We were 12 people and had the place all for ourselves. Really perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeless1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    34
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
50
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a great place to stay, and in walking distance to anything in town. The hostess (Paula) is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The main room of the house has a ping pong table, books, puzzles to work, and a kitchen should you choose to prepare your own meals. The rooms were clean, and bedding comfortable. AND, the price is right!

As a note, this place is pet-friendly - so if you are allergic to dogs and cats (which I am), you may want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CbinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Six of us stayed here for one night. It has been a very fun experience. It is a very quiet and clean place. Our host is a very nice lady. She has given us enough freedom to have fun in the common living room, which has a pingpong table, a piano, and some fun books. She was also very helpful in suggesting a good scenic drive for us to enjoy the day time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was in Alaska for an entire week, bouncing around from Seward all the way up to Denali, and the Northern Guest House was my favorite place to stay by far. The owner is an incredibly nice woman who was really flexible in dealing with our changing plans (due to weather). The rooms are decently sized, clean, comfortable and full of character. The downstairs lounge and kitchen were perfect to hang out in after a long day of outdoor activities. And, perhaps best of all, it was incredibly affordable. My friend and I paid about $90 for a night in a private room, and I gladly would have paid double. Forget about the other, more pricey places to stay when traveling to this great town - stay at the Northern Guest House.

P.S. - they have bikes they let you take and ride around town for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a marvelous, homey, comfy, cozy guest house in the town of Talkeetna. Our host, Paula, is welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. She built the house (literally) and her affection for it, her town, and her guests is obvious. We stayed only one night in the Northern Guest House but the next time we travel through Talkeetna, we will be sure to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had 13 people (ages 85-6 yo) in our group and were very impressed. There was a large kitchen, dining room and common area with ping pong table. The bedrooms offered enough beds for all and the availability of mountain bikes were a huge plus. Paula was very welcoming and accomodating. Loved the area and proximity to town. Would have definitely stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Northern Guest House is a nice, affordable and easy place to stay in Talkeetna. The owner Paula is very welcoming and has a lot of Alaskan charm. The rooms are comfortable and the common area has ping pong, television and an open kitchen. Bikes are free to use, but a little rundown.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.2 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.0 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Guest House

Property: Northern Guest House
Address: 13712 Second St, P O Box 24, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Guest House is 2 blocks from Main St.Close to all services Talkeetna has to offer.The Guest house has many family orientated activities both indoor and outdoor. This is a great place to stay with a group of friends for the weekend. Each having their own space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Guest House Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing