We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place if you don't mind a lack of privacy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This review is getting a "poor" rating over terrible, only because we love Talkeetna. Our visit was cut short due to unforseen flooding, so we could only stay one night at the Northern Guest House. Our hostess, Paula, was not the friendliest, nor did she have much experience in hospitality. We had a gathering of girls for a bachelorette party, so all rooms were rented out in the B & B. Paula took it upon herself to walk in as she pleased, without knocking. She did not allow us to increase the temperature of the house, and promptly checked the thermostat to make sure we did not touch it- the entire house was FREEZING! She did not respect our privacy, asking questions in the morning about us that would only be known if she was sleeping in close quarters or somewhere in the house, this interrogation made us feel quite uncomfortable. We feel like she was eavesdropping on us throughout the night. To top off our weekend, we woke up to a sight we have never seen before. She was butchering a moose on the front porch, not caring how loud or disgusting the sight was. We had to walk past the massacre to leave in the morning. She did not thank us or even say goodbye, just kept on cutting up meat. This was such a disappointment to pay to rent the entire house and to not be treated as guests. We will never stay at the Northern Guest House again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaskadale, Owner at Northern Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

This group reserved 2 nights. I did not charge them for the first night in which they did not cancel nor show up.
Upon arrival I greeted them and showed them how to work the primary heat source and explained to them that each room also had individual space heaters if they felt more heat was necessary. This was the only time I looked at the thermostat or there was any discussion of heat.
I left them to their privacy for the evening yet as I do occupy a seperate section of this Guest House I was able to hear one of them getting sick later that evening. In the morning I knocked on the door, prior to entering the common kitchen area of the Guest House, and asked if everyone was all right, merely out of concern and with no intention to interrogate.
I was processing a moose hind quarter in the yard. Since this is a very common task in Alaska in the fall and the work area, besides my cutting board, was covered, I never considered this may be offensive to a group of Alaskans. For this I do apologize and in the future will be more aware of my clients.
I find it disapointing that this group would give my Guest House such a low rating when I thought I was more than generous at the very beginning by forgiving their no-show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We rented the whole house and it was the best!..... Especially the very reasonable rate. We recently had a family and friends reunion in Talkeetna for my mom's birthday and the Northern Guest house was the perfect place to gather the family and hang out, play ping pong, and sit out at night in the yard around the screened in fire pit or take one of her bikes for a ride. We had 7 people sleeping there and each room had their own bathroom and hot showers. Easy walk to town (about 1 block) and a couple blocks to the river. We'll definitely stay again. Paula was very friendly and accomodatng and she even had a sweet cleaning girl stop in to straighten things up for us over the 3-night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Northern Guest House is a little different, a little quirky, and my wife and I liked it just fine.

It's not for everybody: the furniture is an eclectic mis-matched mix of funky old stuff, and the sheets on your bed are not going to match. But when you open the door to the big living room area downstairs and the first thing you see is a ping-pong table, well, that just sets the tone.

There are three rooms, each with its own assigned bathroom, but they are all down the hall. Spiral staircase to the two rooms on the second floor might be a problem for older folks.

Great location just a couple of blocks from the main drag -- we just parked our car and forgot about it for a couple of days. Bikes are available to use for free.

Rate was $73 per night. No wi-fi, but bars and restaurants downtown have a signal. Coffee is provided; no breakfast, but the kitchen area is stocked with pots, pans and anything you'd need to cook your own meals.

Paula, the owner, is very friendly and knowledgeable. We considered the Northern Guest House a real find and we are pleased to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of five (including 3 children under age 12) recently stayed at NGH for four days and had such a wonderful experience.
Cozy, clean, convenient to bus/train/airport and a block away from the main part of town
The owner, Paula, was incredibly welcoming and helpful
We borrowed the bikes (helmets & locks provided as well) to explore the fun town/surrounding area of Talkeetna. Evenings were spent relaxing in the lounge, kids on the ping-pong table and outdoors by the fire pit.
Highly recommended for a wonderful, relaxing vacation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldGreenwichCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Great spot, close to everything. Free bike rental, place to make a fire. Cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpmatsalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Northern Guest House is the perfect location at the perfect price for a great family stay in Talkeetna. Everyone loved this place and our ages ranged from 70 to 10. It was so convenient to be able to go to the side of the house, pick out a (complimentary) bike and helmet, hop on and pedal down to the river for a majestic view of Mt. McKinley, or back at the guest house, play ping pong or work on a big jig saw puzzle or sleep in the screened gazebo out back, if that fancy struck. Paula is a +30 year Talkeetna resident and hands on owner. Her rates are a real bargain but there is no scrimping on friendly, family accommodations. Each of the 3 bedrooms (at least one sleeps 4) comes with a lockable private bath (although it may be down the hall) and the main floor has a dining room, equipped kitchen, huge rec room with TV (VCR only), ping pong table and piano. There is also a front proch. We stayed 3 nights. While in town we enjoyed breakfast and baked treats from the Roadhouse and loved the pizza and flatbread sandwiches at Mountain High Pizza Pie. If you stay with Paula you are about a 5 minute walk from anywhere in town and that includes all of the numerous attractions, from flight-seeing to river rafting to dog sledding to jet boating to community theatre to fun gift shops to just skipping stones in the river, as well as to several yummy restaurants. One warning note, the river current is as swift as I have ever seen and I grew up on an island on a major river so don't let you kids venture too close.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukiSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Paula literally makes this place a winner. In fact, she built the house herself! And, a stay at the Guest House must include some time by the fire chatting with Paula, a long time Talkeetna resident who is a facinating person. If you miss the chance to visit with her, you miss a big part of the charm of Talkeetna.

The home itself is clean, affordable and in a terrific location, just off Main Street in Talkeetna. Traveling with my two teenage children, we were happy the Northern Guest House right in the middle of everything. The shared kitchen and living space includes a piano, TV for VCR's only and a ping pong table. The main floor bedroom sleeps three and visitors renting this bedroom have exclusive access to the downstairs full bathroom which was stocked with towels upon our arrival. Though we did not see the upstairs, the family of 5 renting the two bedrooms and bathroom seemed very happy with their decision. Paula provides access to bicycles if desired.

Payment is cash or check only.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.0 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Guest House

Address: 13712 Second St, P O Box 24, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Guest House is 2 blocks from Main St.Close to all services Talkeetna has to offer.The Guest house has many family orientated activities both indoor and outdoor. This is a great place to stay with a group of friends for the weekend. Each having their own space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Guest House Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing