We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Thre friends and I came up to Alaska for a bachelor party last July. We found the Talkeetna View Lodge on Tripadvisor and booked one of their cabins. Renae blew us away with the best breakfastes every morning. Everything was from scratch, something I usually only get when I go visit mom. Also, Tom provided great advice on where to fish, and other great sights to check out while in Denali.
The lodging, property, views and overall experiences were more than we could have asked for. I definitely recomend staying at the Talkeetna Denali View Lodge when traveling to Alaska.

-Seth

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

The stay at The Talkeetna Denali View Lodge and Cabins was great. Ranae was very accommodating and kind. Their home is located outside of the main "strip" of restaurants and bars in Talkeetna (about a 12 minute drive). We stayed in the Wilderness room, which was upstairs where 3 of the rooms are located. The room and bathroom was clean, was decorated well (lots of John Wayne!). Ranae showed us the other rooms and -- wow -- very impressed. If I stayed here again, I would most likely choose the Denali room, as the views are unparalleled. Incredibly beautiful home.

The breakfast was fantastic, by far the best breakfast I had during my week road trip of Alaska. Ranae got up early and made a GREAT breakfast... a real treat.

I only have one recommendation on improvement -- and this is a big one for me -- is to consider putting blackout curtains in the room (not sure if the other rooms have blackout curtains). Mini-blinds block out virtually 0 light in general. During the Alaskan summer, it is light outside nearly all of the time. I do like a dark room, so I found myself only getting 4 hours of sleep that night. Blackout curtains (or really good curtains) would really be great.

All in all, a lovely stay and a great value in Talkeetna. Would not hesitate recommending this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our first trip to Talkeetna to stay for more than a day. I was in the Oosik Classic and rooms were going fast. Luckily we got the Denali Room in the main house with its huge picture window framing Denali. (The mountains were in full glory both Friday and Saturday.) Renae and Tom are wonderful hosts and a pleasure to be around. She creates a wonderful breakfast with several choices. She actually told me a secret to better waffles! The room was very large which is good because before we left on Sunday, we had THREE additional adults with us; our grown kids and a friend. Again, Tom and Renae were extremely accommodating with this sudden influx of extra bodies and provided a roll-away and a cot for them. We had an excellent time and will absolutely go there again both this coming summer and in the winter. We highly recommend the Talkeetna Denali View Lodge and already have to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: The Denali and the Yukon upstairs both face Denali and the Alaska Range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was a delightful place with an incredible view. We stayed in the house/lodge itself rather than in a cabin. The back deck overlooks a wooded area with a pond and a clear enough view of the Alaskan Range that you can pick out the individual mountains by name. There are birds, small critters and some sometime moose that can be seen from the deck. We stayed in the smallest room which was plenty large enough for the two of us, nicely decorated and filled with all the little things you have at home. The bed was comfortable. The hosts are very friendly & eager to do whatever they can to make your trip enjoyable. The atmosphere encourages comraderie, yet the physical set up allows you as much privacy and isolation as you choose. The hot breakfasts were delicious and contained a wide variety of foods.

The prices were VERY reasonable. If we were back in the area, we would try to stay there again.

Several of the people who were there from the lower 48 were returning for their 2nd and 3rd years.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southllanolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Our family of seven adults were in the lodge in mid September. Renae and Tom were very helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was unbelievable and the rooms and the cabin we occupied were clean and comfortable. Talkeetna is a great little funky town with a good choice of places to eat. We would definitely stay here again!
Ric

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricandsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Talkeetna is a quaint little village with good food and little shops. Enjoyed the park service museum with an interesting film about those brave souls who scale Mt McKinley at the risk of their lives. Stayed with Renee and Tom at their great B&B. We stayed 2 nights, both upstairs with great views of the mountain (Yukon and Denali View rooms). This place is a little off the main road but easy to find. Breakfast was terrific and plentiful. Guests are welcome to use the deck as well as living area. We paid for 3 nights so we could get the included flight up to the mountain with Tom. He does not take you into the mountain or land on the glacier (if you want to do that book your flight at Talkeetna Airport) but we got close and flew over lots of interesting wilderness. Highly recommend this B&B if you are in Alaska and want to wake up with a good view of Denali.

Room Tip: Best views are from upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ctalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful four-night stay in the Yukon Room. We can’t say enough about the accommodations and the hospitality of our hosts, Tom and Renae Redman! Also, Renae's sister, Chris, was visiting from Montana and helped out with cooking breakfast which was amazing with great waffles, quiche, casseroles, juices, etc.

We were impressing with their Kurig coffee maker which uses sealed tubs of various types of coffee, teas, and hot chocolate to make fresh cups on demand. Definitely something no B&B should ever be without!

It was rainy and overcast during our stay, but the view was still nice and we enjoyed watching wildlife from our window and from the deck which overlooks a pond. The property is perfectly situated for great views of Denali when it’s clear.

The skies cleared long enough for Tom to take us on a flight to see the area including the foothills of the Alaska Range. We couldn’t see Denali as it was shrouded in clouds and rain, but we could see the glaciers.

We can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
9.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
10.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
9.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness Lodge & Cabin Rentals
10.1 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins

Address: 15669 East Coffee Lane, P. O. Box 526, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range: $107 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Talkeetna, Alaska. Our Home. Our Lodge is a vacation/outdoorsman lodge with 2 Suites, 2 Beautiful Rooms and 2 great Cabins on the edge of the Alaskan Wilderness. We're easily accessible, just a short 10 minute drive to Talkeetna, only two hours North of Anchorage or South of Denali Park and, just one mile West of the "Talkeetna Spur" Highway. Our home is Your home away from home while you're in this very special and unique Talkeetna area. We're only a few hundred yards from a beautiful lake and a manicured landing strip with all of the majestic beauty of Alaska surrounding you. From the deck we have the most awesome and panoramic views of Denali (The Great One) and the Alaska Range in the area. Don't forget to check out our Complimentary Flight-Seeing Package, our Fishing Packages, Veterans & Military and other Discounts.We look forward to seeing you soon at our Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing