We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branson, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed just two nights but they were very relaxing. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The grounds were beautifully done with the moose theme. The host and hostess did a wonderful job making us feel like family. The shared bathroom was always well sanitized and the commons area was so cozy. We will return to stay here again!

Room Tip: Our mattress was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip44160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night in August but what a treat. It's not called meandering moose for nothing. Before we had our bags inside my husband spotted a moose right beside the driveway and he lingered for quite some time. We stayed in the house B&B style and it was very comfortable. Hosts are great and our room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Snoozin Moose cabin for one night at the beginning of August 2012. The cabins was adorable. It had everything we needed for our stay and more. We did not get to meet Kathy but Mike was a wonderful host at breakfast. This is our style inn, we don't like a gourmet fancy type place, we like down to earth and welcoming. The continental style breakfast was perfect. The only reason I did not give this an excellent rating is that the bed was somewhat uncomfortable - lacking support so we both kept rolling to the middle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_in_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meanderingmoose, Owner at Meandering Moose Lodging, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for staying. I am so sorry to find out later that there was a problem with the bed, we were unaware that a main cross bar of the frame had broke. We have made every effort for a very comfortable stay for our guests, with great beds, quality linens and to have a guest have an uncomfortable nights sleet was very disturbing.

The bed was repaired as soon as we realized there was a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just stayed the for 3 nights in July and it was great. I agree , if your looking for fancy --don't stay here but Kathy was such a help and the cabin had everything we needed and very clean.

Thanks for a great 3 days.

Sondra and Jack

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sondralucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As I was waiting for the MM page to load I was pondering what to write and was just thinking "Kathy & Mike are wonderful hosts" when I scrolled down & saw my line had already been taken :) But it's true! If you are seeking 5 star luxury - then don't stay here. This is a collection of cabins with accommodation also available in the main house where Mike & Kathy live but separately from guests.
Kathy leaves notes on the doors for guests - it's just like having friends over and when you go in, you feel right at home. The upstairs suite has a lounge area & private bathroom however it also houses the laundry so Kathy may wander in & out to get the washing done. Downstairs is 2 bedrooms with shared bathroom. We had no issues sharing with the other guests - it's just like a family home and the lounge area encourages guests to mingle both during the day and in the evening. We had a very relaxing and pleasant stay at Meandering Moose and took Mike & Kathy up on all their recommendations for local attractions & dining options. We weren't disappointed and had a fabulous time in Talkeetna. Could have stayed longer than our 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This July we invited our friends and family to stay at the Meandering Moose, where we celebrated our wedding.

Kathy was such a kind, welcoming, and extremely helpful hostess. From the very moment we started to look into the Meandering Moose as a possible wedding venue, she provided as much help as she could, and went well out of her way to help us not only with the lodging but also with logistics for the event itself, too.

We all thoroughly enjoyed staying in the various cabins and Lodge rooms for the three days we were there.

The Lodge is close to downtown but far away enough that you don't feel stuck in the middle of a tourism hotspot. The lodge is set in a clearing within a very peaceful, wooded lot, and would make for a perfect place to stay while traveling to/from Denali, too.

Kathy has a few bikes one can borrow to bike to/from downtown, or one can make it a peaceful (20 minutes') walk, or a quick drive (just a couple minutes by car).

The cabins are very clean, well kept, peaceful and cozy. The Lodge's bedrooms also seemed very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and opened up into a wonderful living room where breakfasts can be served.

We had stayed at the Meandering Moose this past winter and now have been there in the summer, too, with all our friends and family. We love its location, the rooms, the lodge, and the facilities, and Kathy made our stay even more lovely by being such a helpful, welcoming, and discrete hostess. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCB-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

As others have mentioned the lodging is split between the main house and several smaller cabins that are well spaced out in the grounds. The cabin that we stayed in was beautifully decorated and we had plenty of space - there was even an attic with room for several more people. Kathy is friendly and had a few useful tips on flightseeing excursions.

The only real downside is that Meandering Moose is a short drive or a quite a long walk from the main street in Talkeetna, so it would not be that convenient a place to stay if you had come up on the railroad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.6 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.0 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
4.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Property: Meandering Moose Lodging
Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meandering Moose Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing