We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to stay there again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Seven Trees
Ranked #10 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was the highlight of our trip to Talkeetna, AK. Staying with Pat is like staying with a local so she knows the are well and has the best stories of those that stay at her hostel, especially climbers. She has opened up her home, so the place is really cozy and feels so comfortable. The House of 7 Trees is right in the middle of downtown Talkeetna, so no car is needed if you take the train. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindalorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here before our Denali climb and wished we could have come back after. The bunk house is minimalistic, but the location is great and the accommodation is comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is the best place to stay in Talkeetna as far as I'm concerned. Pat and Mac her four legged companion provide an amazing, comfortable, warm and welcoming place to stay. After staying in the Alaska Range for eleven days + I was so thankful for her great hot showers! And she is one of the few places in town that has showers that can accomodate wheelchair users. As far as tour guides she is one of the best. And if you're looking for in town Talkeetna places to stay she is right in the middle of things! I would highly suggest staying with Pat at the House of Seven Trees on your next visit to Talkeetna. Along with Pat, the people you meet will be a highlight of your trip!

Room Tip: If you're just looking for a bunk ask for the bunkhouse, if you want a room, stay in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaWheelsTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed at the House of Seven trees for 10 days while we were visiting my son in town. He arranged the accomadations so we were a little concerned when he said it was a hostel. We stayed in the rooms in the main house and it was very nice and clean. The bathrooms were clean, lots of hot water and the kitchen was fabulous. The kitchen wwas like a gourmet kitchen! We cooked lots of our meals there and enjoyed the ability to have a full kitchen. Pat the owner was fabulous!! We learned so much about the area and she gave us great tips on what to do. Jamie her assistant was also very helpful and added to the great experience. One of the great side benefits of our stay was that we were able to meet so many other travelers from around the world! For someone who was concerned about the hostel experience I would definitely do it again. Thanks Pat and Jamie for the wonderful time!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stumbled upon this unique hostel in Talkeetna when all the other Inns had no vacancies. After going down the list of possible choices, as there are some places that would make you ill, we found the "House of Seven Trees" after a waitress mentioned the place. We were greeted by a cautious but lovely older women, named Pat, who was full of the love for life that we embraced as well. This is a non assuming home with private rooms inside and a bunk house outside. Not to mention a gourmet kitchen that is available for guest to prepare a meal and two clean bath rooms with an abundance of hot water. We opted for the room and loved it. Take the time to get to know the owner, Pat McGee and her dog Mac, and you will be fulfilled with a wealth of local and worldly knowledge that only comes from a lifetime of adventure and spirit. My hats off to this one.
Bill and Sam from Jupiter,Fla.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasidesam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Oh man! Pat McGee is an AMAZING WOMAN!!! She's so warm and welcoming and the beds are great and the rooms are awesome and Talkeetna is BEAUTIFUL!! There's no SMELL or awkward managers who badger you. Take my word for it!! Next time I stroll through Talkeetna, House of Seven Trees is my new home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank st_pete007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I was traveling through alaska. I stayed a night and instantly i was confronted with many questions and all i wanted was a place to sleep for the night. it made feel like i did something bad by all the questions i was asked by the strange old lady. it also had peculiar odor throughout the building. it smelled of mold in the walls, but i couldn't pinpoint it. the scenery totally made up for the spanish inquisition i had to go through to get the room.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickascreenname70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Seven Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Seven Trees

Address: 101 Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House Of Seven Trees Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing