We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
10
21
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
21
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street the owner comfortable room charming town stayed one night short walk frig renovated pam
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 43 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Three stars because it is nothing special, but this is Talkeetna, Alaska; we were not there to lounge in a hotel. Would definitely stay here again if we are back. Certainly not much to look at when you drive up, but the room was adequately roomy and clean with a good collection of informational materials on the desk and the bathroom was updated and spotless. Good water pressure and hot water. The bed was comfortable but remarkably squeaky. We heard some low level noise from other guests after we were up in the morning, but nothing during the night and no vehicle noise; no noise from the bar or its customers coming or going. The town is small, so you can walk everywhere and it is an easy walk to the park to watch the river roar past.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TskMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Ok, Maybe not exactly a gem, but definitely worth a second look. You do have to check in at the bar which is probably the only thing I did not like about the place-only because I cannot handle smoke smell, but the owners and the staff are very friendly. The rooms do look deceiving on the outside, but once inside they are very nice and comfortable. The room we were in had a queen size bed and a twin(we only used the queen) and the mattress was so comfortable. It was nicely decorated and the linens were clean and comfortable as well. We had a small fridge and microwave and owner said she would be happy to make us coffee in the bar anytime(even though we did have a coffee pot). The bathroom look newly remodeled and was very nice. Shampoo and soap supplied. Not much of a view out our window, but a very short 2 minute walk down to the river or into the main road in Talkeetna.
We have been to Talkeetna many times, but this is the first time we have decided to stay the night. So glad we did! So glad we choose the Talkeetna Motel as our stay was very nice. We will stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creed16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like the town of Talkeetna itself, this motel was not too appealing at first glance! But once we got inside, it was wonderful. I liked Talkeetna Motel better that the fancier looking cabin-type places to stay because it had an enclosed entry hall that protected us and our room from the rain, and, with units on both sides of us, it provided more insulation. The location, just a block or so off the main street, was perfect, and safe for leaving the car to walk into town to browse the shops and restaurants. As others have mentioned, when you first step into the bar to check in, you have to adjust to the darkness. Our unit #4 was beautifully renovated, with better attention to detail, paint and grout work than any hotel I have stayed in in a long time! Spotless! Loved the lotion dispensers! Was surprised at first that there was no closet, but the ample number of hooks in the room and bathroom, and the extra bed space for laying out suitcases compensated nicely! I noticed creaky bed springs, but they were not a problem.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasMomTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The outside of the motel doesn't look like much and you have to go in the bar to check in but the rooms are clean and the location is great. We stayed one night and needed a fold-away bed. The owner left it out in the hall until we were ready for it so we didn't have to manouver around it. Clean, comfortable and reasonable. A good place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharron353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Talkeetna. It's just by the Ranger Station and a couple of blocks or 5 minutes walk from the bright lights and noise on Main street. It's handy for Talkeetna Air Taxi, Denali et al. the railway and for travels between Nome or Fairbanks and Anchorage.

The Motel has been recently renovated to a high standard and the rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean and have free coffee and wifi which (unlike some) works very well. The bathroom has all a bathroom needs with soft towels and a good shower.

The owners are clearly and justifiably proud of the place and cater for fishermen as well as tourists. They are lovely straightforward people who fit the place like a glove. The bar is an interesting, cosy (and smokey but we're reviewing the motel here, right?) throwback in one of the A frame buildings and where you check in.

Their place deserves to have had a really good season this year, I hope it did and best wishes for next. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room tip: All the rooms are excellent: clean, quiet and just what you want.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTurkeyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews