We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy but comfortable, convenient and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Talkeetna Motel

Talkeetna Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talkeetna Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not fancy but comfortable, convenient and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed the night on our way to Denali. This is a basic motel - good value for the $. It is clear the owner takes pride in her motel and it shows in her straight forward but friendly demeanor and the room itself - very clean and updated. The bathroom had basic fixtures but everything looked new. We had plenty of space to hang coats and there was a fridge and coffee maker. And free wi-fi that worked well. It was very quiet and we didn't notice any other guests. They were in the process of painting the building where rooms were located so things were moved around and in storage but didn't affect us. Talkeetna is a small, charming town. The motel is off a side street so quiet. And it was terrific to just walk 5 min. or less into town (the main street). We were forewarned from previous review that we needed to walk through smoky, dark bar to check-in and get our key at the bar - so no surprises. Not thrilled about that but able to accept as that is part of the offbeat charm of this little motel in the middle of the beautiful Alaska wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
perry, ga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

the worse thing about this motel is that one checks in at a bar right beside the very small motel...a very smokey bar! The motel was in process of renovation when we arrived and it was pretty scarey....we thought we had made a huge mistake by booking rooms here. However, the rooms were a great surprise....not ready when we arrived slightly after scheduled time but they were very comfortable and clean....owner/manager/cleaner was quite nice but slightly intimidating. I would not stay here again simply because you have to go into the smokey bar area for check-ins, ice, etc....good location for viewing the "mountain", walking all over town, and down to river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mville8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for work- The women who runs it is very nice and hospitable but the rooms are pretty brutal. Something was running on the roof at night and the rooms was creaking. Don't know how else to descrive it- just creaking. I'm sitting on the bed right now and it could use a new mattress. Just came back from a night on the mountain and in my experience that means any room should feel awesome but this one didn't cut it. Hopefully it's cheap but I think it's more for the climbers who just need a warm room at a low rate. They're renovating right now and with any luck the hotel rooms will soon match the friendliness of the owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EonCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room was really nice, the owners were very friendly, it is not a fancy motel but considering other places we stayed in Alaska - it is great for the price, we caould walk to the river and to town - nice location and not on the main street

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCampermeckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani HI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent one night in Talkeetna on our way from Denali to Seward. We were pleasantly surprised to find this place is a real gem. We arrived quite early in the day but the owner showed us to our room. He said he always heats the rooms and turns the tv on so guests will feel welcome. The room was immaculate. Brand new bathroom floor to ceiling. Room had microwave, fridge, coffee/tea, writing desk and free wifi and satellite tv. This motel is very centrally located in this artsy Alaska town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PatGMililaniHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This motel is reasonable value. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. All you need for a one night stopover. There is free wifi which works well, no breakfast, however a couple of places in town, so it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I have to agree with the other reviews. Don't judge this book by its cover. When we pulled up, the sign for the hotel was propped up against the wall and it looked like a total dive. We were so surprised to find a very clean, tidy room with a practically new bathroom. Not many bells and whistles, but a clean room with blackout curtains which are essential for Alaska in the summer.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
0.5 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#10 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Motel

Property: Talkeetna Motel
Address: Box 115, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0115
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Motel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing