We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place and great price”
Review of Talkeetna Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talkeetna Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room was really nice, the owners were very friendly, it is not a fancy motel but considering other places we stayed in Alaska - it is great for the price, we caould walk to the river and to town - nice location and not on the main street

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCampermeckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent one night in Talkeetna on our way from Denali to Seward. We were pleasantly surprised to find this place is a real gem. We arrived quite early in the day but the owner showed us to our room. He said he always heats the rooms and turns the tv on so guests will feel welcome. The room was immaculate. Brand new bathroom floor to ceiling. Room had microwave, fridge, coffee/tea, writing desk and free wifi and satellite tv. This motel is very centrally located in this artsy Alaska town.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PatGMililaniHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This motel is reasonable value. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. All you need for a one night stopover. There is free wifi which works well, no breakfast, however a couple of places in town, so it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to agree with the other reviews. Don't judge this book by its cover. When we pulled up, the sign for the hotel was propped up against the wall and it looked like a total dive. We were so surprised to find a very clean, tidy room with a practically new bathroom. Not many bells and whistles, but a clean room with blackout curtains which are essential for Alaska in the summer.

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank Debbie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Don't be turned off by the outside. It's on a side street in small,,,small Talkeetna. The room was clean and small, but big enough for th 2 of us. Bathroom was newer and updated. There is a small microwave and fridge. The is no AC, just a fan. Great shower, nice cup of coffee and breakfast at the Talkeetna Roadhouse down the street that's all you need.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Like2travel869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a small mom and pop place with friendly, knowledgeable owners. We got good advice for places to eat. The room was spacious with old-fashioned decor, but very clean. We had to basically live out of our suitcase because there was no place to hang clothes and just a couple of small drawers. We had a room fan overhead. The bathroom was small but remodeled and had little counter space, but was well lit. The showerhead was good, and we had plenty of hot water and soft, fluffy towels. There was no hairdryer and no towel rack. The bed was firm but comfortable, but the springs squeaked with every move. There was a large mini-fridge with freezer and a small microwave. We also had an old-fashioned TV, desk, and two chairs. There was no air conditioning, but with the window opened and the ceiling fan running we were fine on a cool day. It might have been uncomfortable on a warm day. This part of town seemed quiet and we looked out on a green area and felt secluded. There was no included breakfast. We had a good dinner at a reasonable price at the Twister Creek Restaurant, and we picked up great fudge at The Roadhouse.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

You check in at the bar next door. Very friendly, helpful owner and staff. Room was very clean and bathroom has been updated. Little fridge, microwave, and coffee maker are provided. Free WI-Fi. Only a couple of other people were there so not sure how quiet the rooms are. Close enough to walk to downtown Talkeetna and the Roadhouse for a great meal. Only problem we had is there is not an air conditioner. It was in the 70's the day were arrived so it was very hot in the room. They provided a small fan but it was late in the night before it finally cooled off. Don't be put off by the outside looks. Nice cheap place to stay for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puppydrum45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
10.2 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Motel

Address: Box 115, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0115
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range: $65 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Motel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing