We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of a Lifetime”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traleika Mountaintop Cabins
Ranked #10 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“View of a Lifetime”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were made to feel at home in the beautiful cabin and we spent the night with fog and rain surrounding us. Laughter and a scrabble game commenced into the wee hours. In the morning as the fog lifted Denali and the Alaska Range came into view and this is the perfect place to capture perfect photographs of The Great One! The cabin had everything we needed we just had to provide our own food! This place is great for two, family's and for friends gathering! Awesome place!

Room Tip: All three of the cabins have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyAlaskaJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I rate this facility five stars, since I think anyone staying in Talkeetna is staying for the view of Denali. We stopped at six of the ten places listed as public locations for viewing Denali on our drive up, and only one matched the view from our porch at Traleika. Even the locals commented on how good the view is from Traleika when we told them where we were staying. This greatly increased our views of Denali, since several glimpses we had of the mountain were first thing in the morning, or last thing at night. Besides, we could view in privacy, snacks at hand. Truly a world class experience.
As for the facility itself, there is nothing wrong with it, but it would not be a five star facility without the view. The internet is good, the curtains a bit marginal, the rooms small, the kitchen adequately equipped, the bathroom acceptable. If the clouds part, and Denali appears, you won't notice. I spent hours on the porch, and we are talking about going back, and spending a week on the porch.
One word of warning. We had a basic SUV, and had no problems. My brother in law drove a sedan, and had some problems driving in when it rained. The road is a decent dirt road for Alaska, but it certainly is not paved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danganya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in the cabin on our honeymoon and loved it. Quiet, comfortable, secluded and an amazing view. The cabin had lots of nice amenities including pots/pans, hot plate, coffee maker, fridge and even lots of great books and a few dvd's for those rainy days. Nice open floor plan and could easily sleep 8 people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atpoirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was an exceptional place while staying in Talkeetna. Especially since we had 3 days of heavy rain, the cabins were spacious and a wondrous escape from the wet weather. However, when the rain stopped and the clouds parted, we had an extraordinary view of Denali and the Alaskan Range. The first morning we were there, a mother and baby moose arrived at our door to greet us good morning. Great stay, great host, great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Denali cabin. Wow, what a wonderful, serene place. The views are spectacular, and the cabin is clean and very comfortable. We were a party of 5 adults and the space was adequate (2 very comfortable futons on the lower level). Whitney the owner, is very warm and helpful. She made sure we were comfortable. The town of Talkeetna is eclectic and everyone in town seem to know pretty much everybody else in town :)

The cabin is a little ways off from cafes and restaurants (~4 miles) so, grocery shop/pick up food accordingly to maximize time in this little piece of haven. The cooking stoves are pretty basic (2 burner hotplates). Beds are super comfy and the showers are hot (bathroom is small - cabin style).

Thanks for sharing the place Whitney! Will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Three years ago we visited Alaska and stayed at the Traleika Cabins. Our time there was so memorable it was a "must return to" when we planned our trip for this year - and - we were not disappointed.

Whitney is an energetic, gracious hostess who appreciates her guests and radiates her love of Denali and the community she lives in. She is knowledgeable of the area and provides suggestions and ideas of trails, restaurants, etc.

We chose to stay in the Denali View Cabin and unfortunately the mountain chose not to show during our time on the property. In fact, we experienced several days of fairly continuous rain which made us appreciate our cabin even more. The Denali View is spacious. It provides a full kitchen and living room area along with a bay window/table seating area overlooking the mountain range and expanse of forest. There is a complete bathroom on the first floor. There are two bedrooms on the second floor with amazing views and very, very comfortable beds.
The cabin was spotless - just as we'd remembered.

We did encounter a few times of interrupted wi-fi, but Whitney responded immediately and we had no additional problems. Again, we find her to be very committed to her guests - it was wonderful to see her and visit after a three year absence.

Traleika Mountaintop Cabins is a magnificent experience and is our continued place of choice to stay at when we travel to Talkeetna. We highly recommend it to those who are in the area and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25KMtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mom and I stayed n the Birchcrest cabin which was so cozy! Whitney was great- she called and e-mailed us to say that we could see the summit! When we stepped outside we were able to take great photographs of a breathtaking view. The cabin itself was great, there was a small kitchen if you wanted to cook your own meals and some movies and games to keep yourself entertained. I would definitely stay here again! Overall Traleika was amazing and beautiful and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennyloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.7 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
10.1 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.9 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traleika Mountaintop Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traleika Mountaintop Cabins

Property: Traleika Mountaintop Cabins
Address: 22216 S. Freedom Drive, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traleika Mountaintop Cabins specializes in private Denali view lodging. Three custom cedar guest houses include kitchens, private baths, decks with gas grills and wireless internet access. Enjoy sweeping views of Mt. McKinley and the Alaska Range from the 20 acre grounds while being only a short drive to Talkeetna's town site for restaurants and activities. This unique mountaintop location provides a vantage point for fabulous photo opportunities, stunning sunsets and winter northern lights viewing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Traleika Mountaintop Cabins Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing