We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Talkeetna Property!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traleika Mountaintop Cabins
Ranked #9 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We took my parents, my sister, and my mother-in-law to Traleika this summer for a one night stay and LOVED it. We're Anchorage area locals and have traveled all over the state. The cabins are very nice, have beautiful views, and are kept quite clean. We stayed in the Birchrest cabin, and all six of us were cozy but comfortable. The cabins are set up at the top of a hill so you get a lovely panoramic view, including Denali if it's "out". Only downsides are that the road up is a little rough and parking is limited (but so long as you don't drive like a crazy person and don't have more than two vehicles, it's fine) Whitney, the lady who runs the cabins, is extremely nice and accomodating. We had some confusion over reservations and she worked hard to fix it and make the situation work for all her customers. Our whole crew enjoyed the lovely, relaxing stay, and we all agreed we would go again.

Room Tip: We thought the Denali View Guesthouse would be the best for our party of six, but the Birchrest cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKAdventurer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Alaska's cabins come in all colors. You have your right by the road side cabins with no shades in the land of the midnight sun to your custom built palaces. The Traleika cabins are the custom-built, functional variety. They're fancy enough to make you comfortable and rustic enough to make you feel like you're in the "real Alaska" even though there's a paved road a half mile away. Whitney is very friendly and that's not easy when tourists roll in and out all the time and each one expects a special experience. We'd definitely return to the Birchcrest cabin or any of the other offerings. If the sky is clear all of them offer million dollar views of Denali. My only concern with the location is that with 3 cabins tightly packed your quiet night away might not be so quiet if your neighbors aren't similiarly minded.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlaskaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent two nights in the Sultana cabin.
Very peaceful atmosphere and great view of Denali and the Alaska Range.
The cabin was very clean and comfortable.
The best view of any cabin we stayed in on our trip.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacker1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights with friends. My husband and I have stayed there before . Both times we enjoyed our stay. It is a steep drive up a gravel driveway but well worth it. Our last day Mt. McKinley came out from the clouds-absolutely spectacular! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kcstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in the Birchcrest cabins and really loved it - two nice bed rooms and a comfortable living room and kitchen - overall a very nice cabin with everything comfort you need - and the really best thing is the beautiful view ! Very peaceful a very short drive out of Talkeetna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nh9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family of 4 just loved this place! We stayed in the Denali View Guesthouse and found it to be peaceful, spacious, and comfortable. The views from every room and from the outside deck are to die for. The host, Whitney, was delightful. It was a truly special experience and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just spent June 21-24 at the Birchcrest Cabin at Traleika! All I can say is wow! We loved the space of the cabin but the view beats everything else! We had 2 days of Denali views and it was AWESOME!! On our first morning there, a moose and her 2 calves came to play and eat right in front if our cabin. We stayed here with our two children ages 7 and 9 and it was plenty if room for the four of us. The only downside at all is the small shower and the lack of any real water pressure but both of those things can be dealt with. If you can, go stay at these cabins and enjoy your views as well as the cool town of Talkeetna!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.3 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,093 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
10.1 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
3.9 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traleika Mountaintop Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traleika Mountaintop Cabins

Address: 22216 S. Freedom Drive, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: $150 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traleika Mountaintop Cabins specializes in private Denali view lodging. Three custom cedar guest houses include kitchens, private baths, decks with gas grills and wireless internet access. Enjoy sweeping views of Mt. McKinley and the Alaska Range from the 20 acre grounds while being only a short drive to Talkeetna's town site for restaurants and activities. This unique mountaintop location provides a vantage point for fabulous photo opportunities, stunning sunsets and winter northern lights viewing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Traleika Mountaintop Cabins Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing