We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable Rafting Trip & Great Guide!

We did the scenic float trip on the Chulitna River starting near the Mt McKinley Princess... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2018
sp10js
,
Birmingham, Alabama
FUN IN TALKEETNA

Sabrina took a group of 5 middle aged people down the river in a raft and provided us with... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2018
randjtaylor330
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 276 reviews
  
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
194
56
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
56
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews float trip bald eagles relaxing float hour trip rain gear raft guide great trip great guide life jackets princess land tour recommend this trip beautiful scenery princess lodge flora and fauna denali state park safety briefing parks highway
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 273 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We did the scenic float trip on the Chulitna River starting near the Mt McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge and ending in Talkeetna. They outfit you well--waders, raincoat, boots, hat, gloves, life vest! Sabrina was an excellent guide! She knew the river and the local history. During our 4-hour trip we started early with fog and ended with blue sky and sunshine. We saw lots of eagles--in the trees, on the riverbank, flying overhead. We even saw a coyote. The scenery was outstanding. Many thanks to Sabrina (glad you came back for another summer!).

Thank sp10js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Sabrina took a group of 5 middle aged people down the river in a raft and provided us with information about the area along with bird sightings and a history of the river system.

Thank randjtaylor330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

My wife and I were looking for a rafting trip without white water. This fit the bill. Although it was raining to beat the drum, we were kept relatively dry by the large rainsuits and boots that were provided. Our guide,PJ, was very skilled in handling the raft and took us up a calm creek to watch salmon swimming just below our raft. Further downriver, we were entertained by Steve on the guitar under a beach umbrella-totally unexpected. We totally enjoyed the river trip and a good pizza next door to the yert.

Thank JUST_BOBBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We were part of a 6-person group taking the 2-hour River Float rafting. The TRG people could not be nicer, really terrific people with great energy. Our guide (oarsman) was really nice and appropriately informative. But, the rafting simply did not end up being as exciting as we had thought it would be. We were not expecting whitewater, but something more than we experienced. Again, the TRG folks are wonderful.

Thank Acinonyx60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

We decided to do this at the last moment on our Princess land tour. Enjoyed the natural beauty on a gorgeous day. Highly recommend

Thank geraldh463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a great time with the Talkeetna River Guides. Our guide, Kristy, loves Alaska and shared that enthusiasm with us. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery while Kristy told us about life in Alaska and living off the grid. My mom and I were both able to get some really nice photos as well. No risk to our cameras at all.

Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We had an absolutely great time with our float trip with our river guide, Tori, even though it was raining half the time! Learned so much about wildlife and local vegetation and we saw bald eagle’s nest and salmon. All of the staff made the trip real really fun. Highly recommend.

Thank Rebekah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

My friend and I had an awesome time on our raft trip!! Our guide, PJ, was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly! We saw lots of amazing scenery and wildlife. It was so beautiful and so much fun!

Thank VTwranglerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

We did the two hour raft trip on Talkeetna river. Our raft guide was excellent local person who was quite informative. The entire experience was enjoyable, from preboarding prep to after-trip return. Good people work there!

Thank RockiesResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

My 2 teens and I took the 2 hour scenic tour. We have never been before and didn’t realize we had to sit on edge of the raft. But the staff was nice and talked us through it all. Our guide Harry was young and fun! We learned history, saw a beaver dam, saw an Eagle, and heard some songs from Steve! Not scary at all, nice and relaxing. Recommend the late evening one to relax and cool off. Thanks Dawn

Thank Starrparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews