We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAGIC”
Review of K2 Aviation

K2 Aviation
Book In Advance
More Info
$232.10*
and up
Denali Experience Flightseeing Tour
More Info
$342.88*
and up
Denali Grand Tour
More Info
$300.68*
and up
Denali Flyer Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the wonders of Alaska and Denali National Park, and gain a new appreciation for our state's size and rugged beauty. Our location in Talkeetna provides an excellent launching point for your explorations of Denali, the Alaska Range, and Denali National Park. The K2 Aviation staff is committed to ensuring that you have the best possible experience on your flightseeing tour. Come fly with us!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“MAGIC”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

These people are very busy and its easy to see why. Planes are well maintained and everybody professional. Plan ahead and yes the weather may be kind to you. If not they will refund you in the event of a no go. The glacier landing is a must - dont worry about it being cold, it was quite warm up there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    70
    13
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did not fly”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Due to weather, we could not fly. I am writing this to tell everyone how hard K2 worked with us. We had to reschedule on a daily basis. The staff was friendly and professional. We were traveling all over the lower half and would have had to drive 4 hours to return for our flight. K2 talked to us every day about the conditions and rescheduled us every day until we left for home. We never got to fly but they were wonderful about our needs. In the end, they said they would mail us a refund due to the time passed since our booking. We wanted to fly and land on a glacier more than anything but they made the disappointment easier to take, We will try with them when we return. Thank you all for your help.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coolest thing I did in my 2 weeks in Alaska”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was in Alaska for 2 weeks and this was the coolest thing I did AND I did a lot of cool things. This was incredible. I was there 5 years ago and took a flight around Mt. McKinley from Katishna and never thought anything could top that. I was wrong! Landing on a glacier added extra excitement to it. There is something to be said for standing in a place only a handful of other people ever had. K2 Aviation was great. Our initial flight was cancelled due to weather so we re-scheduled and it was worth the wait. Denali was clear and it doesn't get any better than that! The pilot was fantastic and gave narration during the flight. If you go to Alaska, DO THIS! Talkeetna is also a wonderful little town, worth staying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“K2 Aviation Glacier Landing”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

K2 runs a top notch operation. Very organized, polite, and professional. Tony was the Captain for our flight. He was very focused on details during our flight, but who wouldn't be if 7 of the pax spoke no English. He made sure everyone was paying attention. Exactly what you want. I would do it again for sure. Even my traveling companion, who is prone to get motion sick, could not stop talking about how enjoyable it was. She could not imagine missing that experience. Well done K2.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Ms
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Flying High in Alaska with K2!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our flightseeing trip with K2 Aviation was expected to be a highlight of our vacation trip, and it certainly was - even beyond all expectations! We had booked the "red" route from their website. When we arrived there was very thick cloud cover, so that route was not available with the current weather conditions. We were asked if we would be interested in joining another group on the "green" route, which was the same price with about 15 minutes additional flight time. Our backpacks were stowed at the office in locked bins. (We wore coats onto the flight, but were not needed in the heated plane.) The pilot quickly seated us in the 10-seat twin engine plane and we were on our way! The tour information was educational and the views were exceptional. We were still in and out of cloud cover but could see most of the other mountain ranges in the area and had good visibility for the glaciers and some rivers. This is a highly recommended adventure tour and K2 Aviation is an excellent tour company for flightseeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K2 Aviation also viewed

 

Been to K2 Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing